Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Broken Ties
2002-09-10 - 4:55 p.m.

"Damn it!" I shouted toward the sky.

I was both saddened and infuriated at the same time. I had never been so mad at Ella before that night. We had always gotten along so well. I never thought she could hurt me so much. Then the look on Sindor's face just brought me to my knees. I knelt there crying, not even bothering to mask my face from the onlookers.

I knew I had to talk to Sindor. Reassure him that I loved him deeply, and I would be with him for as long as he wanted me. I just could not bring myself to my feet. Thoughts of Ella's anger at me and Sindor just would not yield.

I knelt there for what seemed like hours, crying rhythmically. Then a pair of boots came into my line of vision. I looked up to see the tear-stained face of Sindor.

He knelt down in front of me and wrapped his arms around me. I let myself go limp in his arms.

"I am so sorry, my love," I whispered between sobs.

"Shh." He stroked my hair. "It's alright. I know that you love me. It was wrong of me to run away from you like that, but I was upset too."

"I should have gone after you..."

"No. You have a much bigger problem than me. I love you, Lex. And I hate to see you like this. You need to talk to Ella," he said so soothingly.

I nodded into his shoulder. He pulled me to my feet.

"Adhemar went to talk to her. Hopefully he talked some sense into her."

Sindor walked me to my house, very slowly. By the time we reached the path that led up to the front door, Adhemar came running at us from down the street.

"Al! Arnon!"

We stopped and turned to him.

"What did she say?" Sindor asked.

"She said she was moving out, and catching the next possible ship out of here for Paris," he rushed.

I sighed, and began crying anew.

"I'm sorry, Al," whispered Adhemar. "I couldn't get through to her at all. She is just mad. I'm sure she will calm down from this real soon."

"Did she take her coffin?" I asked.

He nodded.

"Let's just go inside. The sun is almost up, right? There is nothing we can do tonight. Besides you need to lay down," suggested Sindor.

He walked me into the house, and into the hidden room, followed by Adhemar. Opening the coffin, I lowered myself into it, and closed my eyes as my head hit the soft silk pillow.

Then I remembered Sebrine. "Will you please feed Sebrine? I do not want another person mad at me..."

Sindor nodded. I let the coffin lid shut on me.

I do not remember when Sindor came back to the coffin that night. All I remember is the pain in my heart and my wet face.

Alexander


Previous | Next