Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Reconciliation
2002-09-20 - 6:05 p.m.

That evening, after we fed together, we walked hand in hand to Impuret� to see Henmi. Adhemar would be there to be with Henmi, I decided, and Ella would be with Adhemar as well. I wanted to say something to Ella, to say sorry for angering her. I couldn't stand others being angry with me, so I always tried my best not to make anyone angry. I wanted to apologize for making her unhappy.

Adhemar greeted us as we walked in the bar, and then said, "Why Arnon, you're looking a bit� disheveled."

I felt my face begin to heat up. Alexander raised an eyebrow in annoyance as Adhemar smiled back at us. "What'd I say?" Adhemar asked in amusement.

Henmi spotted us, so he came over to say hello to us. "Hi, Sin," he said.

"Hi, Henmi," I said, and ruffled his hair gently with my free hand.

"Sin, Ella wanted to talk to you," Henmi said. "She's over there." He pointed to a table where she sat looking at the ground.

I looked up at Alexander, and he nodded back to me. I looked back at Henmi. "Alright, Henmi. Thanks."

Henmi nodded and then said, "I should� get back to work, then."

I nodded, and he went back to the counter. Turning back to Alexander, I said, "I'll be back soon."

He nodded and released my hand, so I walked over to Ella.

She looked up at me, and I asked, "Can I sit?" She nodded, so I sat down across from her. "Ella, I--"

"Sindor, please, before you say anything, I want to�" Ella trailed off for a moment before continuing. "I want to say� That I apologize for what I said two nights ago. I was angry, and I was not thinking. I should not have said it. You must have been so miserable after I said those things. Please forgive me, Sindor."

I stared at her for a moment in surprise before saying, "Y-you're sorry? But� I thought you said you hated me� I was going to apologize--"

"Sindor, I do not hate you. You have done nothing wrong," she replied. "You should not apologize. It was I that was wrong. I was just� jealous, Sindor. I should not have acted the way I did."

"Jealous�?" I asked. "Why?

"Of your time spent with my brother."

"Ella�" I stared back at her with sympathy. "I� could never take your brother away from you. He loves you very much� He was so worried when you left the house after the argument. He was so scared that he would lose you. My being here won't change the fact that he loves you."

She nodded and looked back at me with understanding eyes.

"I hope Henmi doesn't feel the same way," I said. "If he did, he'd never tell me�"

"Can't you read his mind?" Ella asked.

"I don't want to if I don't have to," I answered. "I don't want to invade his� well, privacy."

"He is very depressed, Sindor," Ella answered. "You were all he knew, and now you are gone from him. He hates it, Sindor. Can you not see that?"

"I� don't want him to feel like that at all," I answered. "What can I do, Ella�?"

"Love him, Sindor," she answered.

"I do� So much�" I replied.

"Then he will come around to accepting it eventually," Ella said. "Furthermore, Adhemar makes him feel more at peace, as you can see."

"Adhemar� has that effect on many people," I said with a smile.

"Yes. He is a gem, is he not?" Ella asked, smiling back at me. "But I wonder how he can possibly stand to act cheerful all of the time. He is not as old as Alexander and I by any means. I wonder what has become of his family."

"Yes�" I answered. "It must be hard, having to stay away from his family�"

"Let us pray that something like that does not happen to us, shall we?" Ella asked, extending out her hand for me to take.

I took her hand in mine and nodded. "Alexander loves you very much."

"Just as he loves you." She released my hand and changed the subject, asking, "Is Alexander going to teach you to fence?"

I stared at her with confusion. "Fence�?"

"�He did not tell you, yet?" she asked.

"Tell me� what?"

"Come on, he should tell you himself." Ella stood up and told me to follow her over to Alexander.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next