Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A New Friendship and a Soon-to-be New Home
2002-09-24 - 6:22 p.m.

Sindor had left Adhemar and me alone, standing at the door of the tavern. I looked around as I stood quietly next to Adhemar. Ella and Sindor seemed to be hitting it off well as Henmi buried his grief in his work.

"So... Ella tells me you two are starting a fencing school," commented Adhemar.

"Yes. We just have to acquire the right place," I replied.

"Do you have one in mind?" he asked, as he started rocking on his heels.

"Yes, actually."

I found it funny at that moment how awkward both of us felt. Adhemar and I had never really had a good conversation together. Our last confrontation ended up in my leaving for Paris. And yet, we lived together.

"You know, I want to apologize for all that I said that night," I began.

"Which night would that be, Al?" he asked, seeming a little more relaxed, but still on edge.

"That night when we... had that conversation about Henmi, and I hit you..." I trailed off.

Adhemar moved in front of me and looked straight into my eyes.

"It's alright, Al. I should never have said those things either. Besides, you hit like a girl," he jeered.

I felt relieved that he took this so lightly. I even smiled a little.

"I have been unfair to you, Adhemar. I do not even know you, and yet I have already condemned you," I said, looking down at the ground.

"Don't worry about it, Al! We have the rest of our lives to get to know each other," he exclaimed, draping his arm over my shoulders.

I laughed.

Sindor and Ella walked over to us, as we continued to joke around.

"I knew you had to have stolen that coffin!" I laughed.

"The poor old fool didn't see what hit him!" he shouted.

Sindor had a disturbed look on his face when I finally directed my attention to him.

"Lex, I think you have something to tell Sindor," said Ella, interupting our merrymaking.

I thought for a moment as Ella looked encouragingly at me while Sindor looked inquisitive. Then I remembered what I had neglected to tell Sin.

"Ella and I are going to open a fencing school here in New Orleans," I informed him, getting excited even at the idea.

He looked taken aback. "A school?"

"Of course. And why not? I am wasting away all my money here, doing nothing productive. Besides, I really miss the sport. I will even teach you for free, in private lessons," I said, leaning closer to Sindor.

He smiled. I laughed.

"And we plan on moving into this really nice house, once we get it," added Ella.

"We're moving?" asked Sindor.

"The house we want is rather large. There will be enough space for us to live upstairs, and to have classrooms downstairs," I explained.

"What about Adhemar? Will he move with us?" queried Sindor.

"Of course I will, Arnon. I wouldn't mind learning to fence. And private lessons sound pretty damn good!" Adhemar commented.

Ella and I sighed at Adhemar's antics. Sindor laughed.

"You're moving?" asked a quiet Henmi.

I looked over to see tears swelling in Henmi's eyes. He had overheard our conversation and misunderstood. Henmi ran off to the back room before any of us had a chance to explain.

"I'll be back," said Sindor as he ran after Henmi.

"Yeah, me too," added Adhemar, in a sort of afterthought tone, as he followed Sindor to the back room.

"I hope they figure this all out with Henmi," said Ella. "He is really suffering."

"I know. Maybe we should invite him to live with us," I suggested.

"If you think it is a good idea. But he has it pretty good living right next to his tavern."

"True. But he needs time with Sindor. And Sindor needs to be with me, until he gets his own coffin, I suppose."

"Speaking of coffins, explain to me this whole 'Adhemar stealing a coffin' ordeal."

I laughed.

Alexander


Previous | Next