Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Dispelling the Grief
2002-09-26 - 5:10 p.m.

After mine and Ella's conversation ended, she brought me over to speak with Alexander. He told me that he was planning to start a fencing school here in New Orleans, and he seemed very excited about it. I was happy, too. Whatever made Alexander happy made me happy as well. I hoped he would be able to open the school quickly.

He then told me that the four of us, Ella, Adhemar, Alexander and I, would be able to move into the same building where the classes would be held. Henmi overheard Alexander say that we were going to be moving, and he misunderstood, and ran into his bedroom.

I sighed and ran after him, wishing he would stop being so miserable. I couldn't stand to see him like that; I only wanted him to be happy.

Adhemar followed me inside, and I silently thanked him for that. Adhemar was good at dealing with people. I didn't know what to say to Henmi, but Adhemar would know.

The room was lit only by the moonlight cascading in from the windows. The light fell on Henmi's crying form curled up on his bed, his back turned towards us.

I knelt beside the bed and rubbed his back soothingly. "Henmi? Henmi, please don't worry. We're only moving to a new house. We'll still be here in New Orleans."

When he didn't respond, I said, "Please, Henmi, don't be sad anymore. I'm still here, aren't I?"

"No, you're not here!" he answered back. "You're not here at all! Don't you care about me, Sin?"

"Henmi, I care so much about you," I answered, my voice shaking.

"Then why did you leave me?"

Adhemar knelt down next to me. "You know he loves Al, kid."

"And he doesn�t love me anymore�" Henmi sobbed.

"That isn't true!" I said fiercely. "I beg you, Henmi, stop acting like this. I can't stand it. I'm still your brother, and I love you, and I promise you you'll be fine."

"Not without you�" Henmi replied weakly. "I miss you, Sin�"

"Henmi, I�" I trailed off.

"Father left me, and now you've left me�" Henmi said, still crying. "No one wants to be with me�"

I sighed in defeat and thought to Adhemar, Please� Say something�

I'll try, Arnon� he replied.

"Henmi, look at me," Adhemar said, turning Henmi towards us. When Henmi didn't look up at him, Adhemar repeated, "Look at me, Henmi."

Henmi reluctantly looked up to Adhemar, tears matting his eyelashes.

Adhemar took Henmi's hand in his own and said earnestly, "I want to be with you, Henmi."

Henmi's jaw dropped slightly and he unconsciously held his breath for a moment. "M�Me?"

Adhemar nodded and pulled Henmi into a tight hug, thinking to me, Goodbye, Arnon�

What?! I thought back.

Goodbye, Arnon.

I rolled my eyes and stood up and walked out of the room. Walking back over to Ella and Alexander, I hoped that Adhemar wouldn't do anything drastic.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next