Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A Vision of the House and Confrontation with Happiness
2002-09-27 - 5:12 p.m.

"So what should we do this evening?" asked Ella, after I explained to her the stolen coffin story.

We were sitting down at a table in the shadows, watching over the tavern. I suggested we do such since the owners were unable to see what was going on.

"I do not know. I had no real big plans," I replied, eyeing a suspicious young man in the corner.

"Why not show me your new house?" asked Sindor, coming up to us.

I was actually unaware of his presence in the tavern until he spoke. I looked up confused.

"What is it, love?" I asked, trying to get the thought of killing the young man out of my head.

"I said, 'Why not show me your new house?'" repeated Sindor.

"Oh. Sure." I smiled.

"Why are you out here? I thought you were talking to Henmi," interjected Ella.

"Adhemar dismissed me. I guess he just wanted to talk to Henmi alone," he shrugged.

Ella and I rose from the table and followed Sindor out of the tavern.

"Are you sure we should just leave the tavern unattended?" I asked, catching up to be next to Sindor.

"It will be alright," was the reply.

I shrugged it off and quickened our pace. I led us to the old house in less than half an hour. It was still as beautiful as the first time I saw it. Sindor merely stood and stared, interested. A shadow moved in an upstairs room.

"But there are people," whispered Sin.

"Do not worry about them. I will take care of everything to get this house for us," I assured.

"I hope so. It's wonderful."

"Me too. I think I want that room," said Ella, pointing to the room with the shadow.

I smiled. We walked around the house, and I noticed more details about it that I liked. I looked in the windows too to catch glimpses of the tenants, but they seemed to be all upstairs, sleeping snugly in their beds.

"I plan on asking Henmi to move in with us, so he does not feel left out anymore. What do you think, Sin?" I asked.

"I think it's a good idea," he answered.

"Unless you would like to ask him yourself?"

"No! I mean, it's your house. You should ask him."

I was shocked at Sindor's apprehension towards his own brother. I left it alone however.

I led us back to our house. It was getting close to sunrise, and I still had not fed Sebrine. Once inside, I went to her, found out what she wanted, and left Sindor and Ella alone in the house. After I returned, I found Sindor in my bedroom, and Ella reading in the library. There was no sign of Adhemar.

"What are you doing in here?" I asked Sindor from the door.

"Merely relaxing," he replied, stretching on the bed.

I strolled to the bed and laid down next to him, pressing my body against his. He snuggled up next to me. I wrapped my arms around him in a tight embrace.

"Are you sure Henmi will be alright," I asked after a few moments of comfort.

"I hope so," he whispered.

If Sindor was still human, he would have been close to sleep then. He seemed so relaxed. The tone of his voice was human for a few seconds too. I wondered if I had done the right thing by turning him.

"Are you happy?"

His head nodded against my shoulder.

"Sindor, answer me."

"Of course I am. I am with you."

"Are you happy with yourself, though?"

"What is with all these questions?"

"Answer me, please."

He rose up and stared into my eyes.

Alexander


Previous | Next