Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Unsettling Discovery
2002-10-04 - 8:38 p.m.

Weariness must have overtaken me the morning before, for I woke up from my slumber later than usual. Perhaps I had been dreaming of Valhalla, of unkempt rose gardens and of unending love. But I will never know, for I did not remember most of my dreams.

I reached out my arm to feel for Alexander, my eternal love, but he had already risen. Desperate to see him, I rose quickly and walked out into the library.

He was sitting there, as regal and beautiful as ever. Just as I had done many times before, I kissed him and embraced him lovingly.

"Miss me?" Alexander asked, brushing the hair away from my face.

"Very much." I kissed him again.

Alexander held my hand in his, and said, "Adhemar and Ella have already left."

"Really?" I asked. "Did Adhemar say anything about Henmi?"

"He says Henmi will be fine," Alexander answered. "He is going to ask Henmi this evening if he would like to live with us."

"That's good," I said, relieved.

After a moment, Alexander said, "Well� shall we?"

I smiled and nodded. My body craved something besides Alexander's attention. We left the house then to go feed together. Afterwards, we headed towards Impuret�.

Holding my hand as we walked to the tavern, Alexander said, "Sindor, as soon as we arrive, I am going to leave again."

"What? Why?" I asked disappointedly.

"I am going to see if there is any way to bring the house into my possession. Perhaps I should familiarize myself with the tenants," Alexander answered.

"Oh� alright," I replied. "But you will come back later?"

"Of course, my love." He kissed my forehead as we approached Impuret�. When I stood in front of the doorway, he wished me goodbye and left quickly.

As I pushed open the old wooden door, I noticed Henmi immediately. He looked up from the counter as I entered. Adhemar was sitting across from him.

"Sin!" Smiling, he ran to me and wrapped his arms tightly around my neck. He said excitedly, "Sin, Adhemar said that I could live with you! I'm so happy! Now we can be together again!"

I stared blankly in front of me for a moment, unbelieving of what I heard. Henmi seemed so happy. He was smiling, and he seemed so eager to be with me. I really couldn't believe it.

Slowly, I wrapped my arms around Henmi and held him closely, letting my forehead rest beside his neck. "Henmi� You�" I felt tears beginning to well up in my eyes. I didn't want to cry; it would only remind Henmi of the change that had occurred with me. I sniffed and closed my eyes tightly.

"Sin? Sin, don't cry," Henmi whispered into my ear, as if reading my thoughts. "I'm sorry, Sin� I shouldn't have acted the way I did� Please, don't feel bad anymore�"

Hearing his voice again, the voice of the Henmi I grew up hearing, not one filled with sorrow, I couldn't help but let my tears fall. I hugged him closer still, so happy that he was the same old Henmi again. I tried to say something, anything, but my voice refused to work.

After a moment, Henmi pushed me away slightly and brushed away my bloody tears with the back of his hand. "It's all right now, Sin�"

"Henmi�" I kissed his cheek and hugged him again. "I love you so much� I always have�"

"I know, Sin�" he replied. "I love you, too."

"Arnon," Adhemar said with annoyance, standing beside us. "Quit hogging."

Henmi smiled and let go of me, and kissed Adhemar on the cheek, ruffling Adhemar's hair while doing so.

"Wh� what?" I questioned, confused by their actions.

Henmi looked back at me for a moment, before turning his face away. Adhemar crossed his arms and shrugged.

What is going on? I asked Adhemar.

What, didn't Al tell you? Adhemar questioned.

Tell me what? I demanded.

Well� Adhemar began. I like Henmi, and--

"You've got to be joking!" I said out-loud. Adhemar and Henmi?! I thought to myself. Adhemar and my brother?! I� don't like this at all! Adhemar isn't right for Henmi. At that moment, I was very scared. I wondered what would happen to Henmi, hanging around with Adhemar. I found it difficult to think that Adhemar could truly love someone, after seeing him be with so many others for only one night. I didn't want him to hurt Henmi. I couldn't stand the thought of him doing that.

Adhemar took Henmi's hand in his own and said, "Look, Arnon--"

"Don't say anything," I said quickly. "I have to think about this. Alone." I turned to walk up the stairs to the balcony. Henmi told me to wait, but I didn't listen.

I wished Alexander would hurry and come to take me back home with him. I wanted to see him desperately. But why didn't he tell me about this?

As I reached the top of the stairs, I noticed that Ella was sitting at one of the tables. I sighed in defeat, knowing that I'd never be able to escape the situation, so I sat down across from her. I then laid my arms upon the table and buried my face in the fabric of my sleeves.

"Sindor, whatever is the matter?" Ella asked.

"Did you know about them?" I asked.

"How could I not know? Their relationship is very obvious," she answered.

"Why? Why Adhemar?" I questioned. "How can Adhemar be with Henmi? It isn't right. As long as I've known Adhemar, he's never been with one person for more than a few hours." I sighed before continuing. "I don't want him to hurt Henmi, Ella� Henmi gets attached to people, and�" I trailed off, not wanting to speak of it any longer.

"Sindor, Henmi was feeling the same way when you told him you found someone that you loved," Ella replied. "He was scared that Alexander would hurt you."

"Alexander wouldn't--"

"Then have faith in Henmi and Adhemar," Ella continued. "Adhemar has a wounded heart, himself. He will not hurt Henmi. Please try to trust Adhemar."

"I don't know, Ella�" I replied wearily.

"You have to, Sindor. Please, try to understand�"

"I'm trying," I answered angrily. I continued to sit with Ella, waiting for Alexander to come back from our soon-to-be house.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next