Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Question of Need
2002-12-23 - 7:29 p.m.

When I woke up, still in Adhemar's arms, I could think of nothing but Alexander. I wanted to see him desperately, so much so that I shook Adhemar awake so that we could leave immediately.

After we fed, we decided to go to the new house to see if he was there. I hoped and prayed that he would be there. I needed him.

When we arrived, I opened the door hastily, and called out, "Alexander?"

But I heard not Alexander's voice, but Ella's in reply. "He went out to feed, Sindor."

"Where?" Adhemar asked.

"I do not know," Ella answered, clearing away the remnants of the broken down wall. "He probably would not have gone too far to look for someone."

Adhemar nodded and pulled me out the door by the hand.

"Where to go? Where to go?" Adhemar mumbled to himself. "Hmm� There's that club a block away� Oh, but it's private, he couldn't have gotten in there� He wouldn't have gone back to our tavern� Hmm� We could try that brothel down that way."

"B-brothel?" I asked. "Alexander wouldn't go in there."

"It's worth a try, kid," he answered. I agreed with him. I was willing to go anywhere to find Alexander.

When we arrived, I walked close to Adhemar, wary of my surroundings. But to my utmost surprise indeed, Alexander was there! My heart felt as if it could leap for joy. I hadn't seen him in several days, and his very presence lightened my spirits, despite everything that he had said to me before. But� he had someone with him. I assumed it was a potential victim.

"Lex!" Adhemar shouted to get his attention. When Alexander didn't look over at us, I felt a dull ache in my heart. He was walking up a set of stairs, so I ran towards him and said, "Lex, come down here!"

But he only embraced the boy next to him, much like he had always embraced me, and followed the boy into a room upstairs. From his actions, I got the distinct feeling Alexander didn't want to just feed.

Before I could move, Adhemar grabbed my shoulders and said, "Don't cry, Sindor, please," but my eyes had already started to mist over with tears.

Adhemar looked at me, determined, and said, "I'll talk to him, so you wait here."

I glanced around the room once more. "I'm not waiting down here."

Adhemar grabbed my hand in his. "Fine, fine, but you let me handle things, you hear me?"

I nodded and followed him as he led me up the stairs.

Adhemar wanted to seem dramatic, I suppose, so he kicked the door open instead of simply using the handle. I jumped as the door hit up against the wall.

Alexander and the boy he had come upstairs with were intertwined in an embrace, no longer clothed from the waist up. I felt as if I could die.

Calm down, Arnon, Adhemar said to me before pulling the boy off of Alexander. "Really, dear one," he said to the boy, "Alexander has had not half the experience I've had. I'm sure you'd be much more happy with me."

I blushed. A-Adhemar! What about Henmi?

Adhemar sighed. "But unfortunately, love, I am already taken. But Alexander doesn't need you, all the same." He shoved the boy out of the room none too gently and picked the door back up and put it in its place.

"Why do you insist on following me?!" Alexander roared, putting his shirt back on. "I do not wish to see either of you ever again!"

Adhemar grabbed Alexander viciously by the shoulders and growled, "You had best take that back. Sindor has done nothing but love you all this time! And what does he get for it? Your complete rejection!"

Alexander jerked his arms free from Adhemar's grasp.

Adhemar continued, "Why can't you see that you need Sindor as well? Surely you do, for you came all this way back here to be with him. You turned him. I'm sure you'd never turn someone into a vampire if you did not feel you needed him."

"I might�" Alexander hissed. "If I hated him."

I felt the tears in my eyes threatening to spill. All the while as Adhemar continued speaking furiously, I spoke softly to Alexander through our mind link, telling him that I loved him, that I needed him, that I was sorry, that I'd do anything to be with him.

After Adhemar finished his accusations, he pulled me in front of him and said, "Well, here he is. If you don't take him, I will." I felt my face redden at the comment. I wanted to go to Alexander, to put my arms around him, to kiss him, to love him, but Adhemar held me back. I stood apprehensively waiting for Alexander to reply.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next