Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A Subdued Epiphany
2003-01-04 - 2:18 p.m.

As Alexander walked briskly out of the room, I still felt melancholy, yes, but not so much as before. Alexander's very presence lightened my mood.

I leaned my head back against Adhemar's shoulder and sighed. "He seems like a totally different person," I stated. "Don't you think so?"

"Who cares, kid," Adhemar said angrily. "Why can't you just forget about him?"

"�Adhemar, do you want me to be happy?" I asked wearily, still being held by Adhemar.

Seeming surprised by the question, he didn't answer immediately. After a short moment of silence, he replied, "Of course."

"Then please let me be with Alexander," I pleaded. "Try to be kind to him. I know you don't like him much, but� Please, for me, just try to be civil to him. Please?"

Slowly, his arm came down from around me to rest at his side. "I'm� sorry, kid."

I turned around and hugged Adhemar closely. "I just� can't stand to see you both fighting with each other," I said earnestly. "I know� you might have been right in most of what you said, but I still don't want you to hurt Alexander."

"After everything he's done to you�?"

"I love him all the same," I replied.

Adhemar cradled my head in his hands and kissed my cheek in a silent apology. "I'll be� civil."

I smiled up at him and said, "Thank you, Adhemar."

He released me and said, "I think I'm going to head home, Arnon. I'm worn out."

"You're worn out?" I asked skeptically. "Don't you want to see Henmi? I was going to go talk to him�"

"Then you give him my love, Arnon. But not too much of it, of course," Adhemar replied with a grin. "Tell him I'll see him tomorrow."

"Alright�" I agreed reluctantly.

Adhemar and I left the brothel, much to my relief, and parted ways. I walked slowly to the tavern, again wishing that Alexander was with me. I missed him terribly; my body ached for him.

As I entered the tavern, Henmi greeted me, as usual, and I told him that I wanted to talk to him. We sat down at a table downstairs across from one another.

No one had told him of the current situation between myself and Alexander, so I explained everything to him.

"Sometimes I felt like he didn't want me around, anyway," I said. "He would sometimes want to go off without me�"

"Sin, maybe he just wanted to be alone for a while," Henmi replied. "He can't be with you every moment."

I remained silent for a moment, and then Henmi said, "Adhemar isn't with me always. He likes to walk around the Place d'Armes sometimes when there are festivals or town meetings there. He likes to shop, too, but he doesn�t buy much; he just likes to look in stores. But I can't go with him often, as I have to work. And sometimes he misses his family, and just wants to be alone to think of them. It's fine with me. I know he loves me more than anyone else. So I'm not upset with him when he doesn't visit, like tonight. I know he is thinking of me."

I thought about what Henmi had said for a moment. I couldn't believe how open Henmi was to Adhemar's comings and goings in the town. I felt strange, like I had been too possessive of Alexander's time. I replied, "Adhemar was just really tired tonight. He sends his love, though, and he will visit you tomorrow."

Henmi smiled at Adhemar's sentiment. "See?" Henmi said. "Adhemar is thinking of me, and I'm sure Alexander is thinking of you, too. You've been together nearly a year. There's no way he could just push you out of his thoughts. I'm sure you two will work it out, Sin. I know you love him very much."

"I know. I should go see him tomorrow," I said, and then added, "By myself. Adhemar is very� emotional when it comes to situations like this."

"Yes, but he's only worried about you," Henmi said. "He's protective of his loved ones."

I nodded in agreement.

After talking for a while longer, I helped him with Impuret�'s record keeping for the month and then I headed back home where Adhemar rested.

I opened my coffin, but he wasn't inside. I turned to his coffin and said, "Adhemar?"

"Nnn?" he asked sleepily from within his coffin.

"You aren't sleeping with me?"

"D-don't say that! You're tempting me!"

I paused for a moment, before getting his meaning and blushing. "T-that's not what I meant! You could have visited Henmi tonight, you know."

"I know, and I didn't," he pulled off a overly dramatic sob.

"Honestly�" I said, exasperated. "Why don't you just ask Henmi?"

"Because�" Adhemar whined exaggeratedly.

"Look, you're acting stubborn," I said casually, no malice in my voice. "I command you to ask him tomorrow night."

"No."

"Yes," I insisted.

He sighed and said, "Fine�"

"Right, then," I said, climbing into my coffin. "Goodnight, Adhemar."

Adhemar sighed again and said, "'Night, Arnon�"

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next