Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Arrivederci
2003-01-11 - 12:49 p.m.

After Alexander left me at the house, I was slightly disappointed that he still wasn't ready to be with me again, but I tried to understand his pain. And I would wait as long as it took for him to come back to me. I needed him, and I would be there when he needed me.

But I was concerned about Adhemar. I wanted Adhemar to be with me. But how was I to tell him to leave Alexander's house? I felt horrible about it, but I didn't want to make Alexander even more angry.

I wiped the tears off of my face and reluctantly walked to the tavern, hoping that Adhemar was there, and� available to speak with me.

I was relieved to find him only speaking to Henmi at a table near the counter, so I walked over to them, interrupting their talk. "Adhemar�" I said slowly. "Adhemar, Alexander said that� that�"

"What, kid?" he asked, concerned. "He didn't hurt you, did he?"

"No," I answered quickly. "He said that� that he wanted you to� move out of his house. Oh, he was so angry with you! I tried to tell him otherwise, but he didn't listen�"

Adhemar was silent for a moment, before saying, "�Well, I suppose I'd best get my coffin, then."

"But, Adhemar!" Henmi said, almost panicking, as Adhemar stood up. "Where will you go?"

"Adhemar, maybe I can talk to him, reason with him�" I suggested.

"You don't have to, kid," Adhemar said, looking to the ground. "I don't expect him to take kindly to me. This is my fault, after all�"

"It isn't!" I insisted. "You can't just leave; you have nowhere to go!"

"Adhemar, please!" Henmi said, taking a hold of Adhemar's arm. "Please, don't leave�"

"I have to, my dear," Adhemar said, holding Henmi's hand in his. "If you wanted me out of your house and I refused to leave, wouldn't you be angry?"

"I wouldn't want you to leave!" Henmi said.

"I know you wouldn't, dearest, but Alexander is angry with me already," Adhemar said.

"Why?" Henmi asked.

"Because I spoke the truth to him, love," Adhemar said. "And Alexander doesn't like that."

I asked, "But really, where will you go?"

"I don't know�" Adhemar said. "I'll look around for a place."

I started to say that I'd help him look, but Henmi interrupted with, "Just stay here! Stay with me!" It surprised me, for not so long ago, Henmi had expressively said that he'd rather not live with Adhemar.

It seemed Adhemar was surprised as well, for he stood in silence for a moment before answering. "Henmi� are you sure?"

"Yes!" Henmi said quickly. "I want to be with you!"

"But--"

"Please, Adhemar�" Henmi said, his eyes locked on Adhemar's.

Adhemar sighed and sat back down next to Henmi. "�Fine," he agreed. Adhemar then said, more forcefully than he probably intended, "But we're going to have to be extra careful about this. You must not let anyone else in the room, Henmi, do you understand? No one. I want you to lock the door as well, for if anyone got inside, that would be� quite unfortunate. I would most likely die if someone opened my coffin during the daytime, Henmi. Do you understand?"

Henmi nodded quickly, his eyes beginning to brim with tears. "I'll guard it all day, I promise�"

Adhemar's expression softened as he smoothed Henmi's hair away from his face and said, "I know you will, sweet boy." Adhemar kissed Henmi deeply and passionately, and I wondered what would happen if I was to live with Alexander in his school soon. He had already promised Henmi that he could live with us, but what then of Adhemar? Because of Alexander's feelings of malice towards Adhemar, I wasn't sure if Alexander would let Adhemar live with us, too. Henmi would not be very happy without Adhemar near.

After Adhemar ended the kiss, Henmi hugged Adhemar closely and said, "You want to live with me, too, right?"

"Of course I do, my love," Adhemar said earnestly, and then placed a kiss on Henmi's forehead. Adhemar then looked up at me and said, "I'll come by later to pick up my coffin, Arnon."

I nodded, taking that as my cue to leave.

I started walking back to Alexander's house, thinking again of Henmi. He would probably stay up all day, watching over Adhemar's coffin and not get any sleep himself. I was worried about him, but there was not much I could do about it, as I would be sleeping during the daytime as well.

The house seemed empty when I arrived, even though Adhemar hadn't truly left yet. It would be awkward to be sleeping alone in the house, without Alexander, Ella, or Adhemar. I missed Alexander and Ella, and I prayed that Alexander would still let me be with him soon.

I sat in the library for several hours until Adhemar arrived. I still felt horrible about having to send him away from the house, but I wanted to do whatever Alexander asked of me. I helped him drag his coffin to the front door, but he said he didn't need any further help.

"We've cleared out the darkest corner of the back room," Adhemar said. "I can put my coffin there."

"Adhemar, I promise I'll talk to Alexander--"

"If he doesn�t ever want to see me again, then don't keep at it, kid. It'll only make him angry at you, and we simply couldn't have that, could we?" Adhemar gave a slight smile.

"Adhemar, but I want to live with you, and Henmi, too," I said.

"I know, kid," he replied. "It'll work out, I'm sure it will. Her highness'll talk to him, too."

I hadn't thought of that before. Adhemar did really adore Ella, so she could possibly help me in softening Alexander's temper.

"I'll talk to her, I promise," I told him.

He smiled and said, "Well then, I should be going�"

I told him goodbye and that I'd see him tomorrow, and then he left, walking swiftly back to the tavern. I stayed the remainder of the evening at Alexander's house.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next