Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Just When Everything Looked Good
2003-01-20 - 10:21 a.m.

Deep down I still wanted to be with Sindor. I knew that very well. But I was in need of some real independence. So for the next two weeks I finished the school, bought uniforms and swords, and moved all of my stuff, with the help of Ella. I know I said I needed independence, but Ella does not count.

The school looked beautiful. It was all ready to be opened. I had put ads in the local newspapers the day after I last talked with Sindor. The large room where I would teach had swords all around it, just waiting to be used, and there were mats on the floor for good traction. In another room across the hall from the classroom, there were shelves that Ella and I put up for the students' things. The uniforms lay neatly on them. The uniforms were brown for the students. Ella and I bought black ones for ourselves. The study now housed all my books, and Ella had plans to keep all the records and money in there as well. We left the kitchen untouched, so as to provide refreshments for our students. All the furniture that had belonged to the old tenants were in the basement, and Sebrine rather liked sleeping on them.

There were four upstairs bedrooms. Ella took one in the back, and she converted the closet into a good hiding place for her coffin. She made up the bed like she actually slept in it too. She put her clothes in dressers, instead of the closet. I took a room in the front of the house, and I followed Ella's example. My closet was even big enough to house a double sized coffin. My large bed was neatly made, and my clothes inhabited the dressers. I made sure to leave room for Sindor's few things.

Ella thought that Henmi and Adhemar would like the other room in the back. I told her that as long as I hated Adhemar, he was unwelcome in my house. She disapproved, but she kept silent.

Three days before the school opened, I went back to the other house one final time to talk to Sindor. He was not there. Probably at the tavern, I thought. While I waited for Sindor to return, I made sure there was nothing left in the house. I had already taken everything that was mine: my bed, my books, my clothes, Sebrine. I just needed to take the coffins, mine and Ella's. We had been sleeping in the basement still.

I waited around the house until it was almost dawn, and still Sindor had not returned. I was getting worried. I really did not want to go to the tavern for I did not want to see Adhemar. I retreated back to the school, deciding to find Sindor wherever he was, even the tavern, the next evening.

As I was dressing in my room the next evening, I glanced out of my window and saw a lone figure staggering down the road. As I looked closer I recognized the crimson hair and pale complexion. I ran out of the school to meet Sindor at the gate. He was shaken and was bleeding slightly from a cut on his cheek.

"Sindor, what happened?" I asked, putting my hand on his cheek, brushing my thumb across the cut.

"Just get me inside," he said weakly, collapsing in my arms.

Sindor kept his eyes on the ground as I half carried, half dragged him into the school. There was no furniture on the first floor on which to lay Sindor, so I ran upstairs to my bedroom and laid him there. Ella came in after us, concerned.

Weakly, Sindor told me what happened. The evening before, while I waited for Sindor to return home, he had been out hunting when a tall blonde man attacked him. Being a vampire himself, this man took Sindor away easily. When Sindor told me of his rape, I grew angry and punched a hole in the wall. Sindor continued, looking ashamed. The man kept Sindor through the day, holding him tightly in his coffin. Sindor fought fiercely with him just an hour ago and was barely able to get free. He ran right here. He was not sure if the man followed him, but he hoped he did not.

"I was so scared," he whimpered into my shoulder as I held him tightly.

I held him for what seemed like hours. Ella left us alone after Sindor told his story. She mentioned making sure the school was secure.

"I should have never let you out of my sight. You are still not strong enough to defend yourself," I raved. "I should have never been angry with you."

"Stop, Lex, please," he begged me. "I don't care about that anymore. Just hold me."

I held Sindor for the rest of the night. When I felt the pull of the sun, I carried him down to the basement where Ella was already preparing for the day. I set him down on a large couch and laid down next to him. After weeks of being without him, I enjoyed his body being so close to mine. In the morning I would do something about this blonde man.

Alexander


Previous | Next