Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A Crack in the Wall
2003-01-24 - 4:40 p.m.

When I woke up the next evening, Sindor was still in my arms, sleeping quietly. I went through his mind, getting every detail about what happened to him that he could not tell me last night.

Adhemar.

Why did I not know that he had something to do with this? Sindor wants us to be friends, but how can I even think about extending my hand out to him in friendship when his own maker raped my lover.

I quietly left the confines of Sindor's arms. I had to confront Adhemar, the bastard. I was bubbling with anger as I left the basement and headed out of school, leaving only a note to Ella: Keep Sindor here. I was boiling with fury as I almost ran to the tavern where I knew Adhemar was. I was overwhelmed with rage as I entered the tavern and saw Adhemar playing with Henmi's ear at the counter. How could he not know his own maker was near? I thought.

Adhemar noticed my arrival, and was walking up to me, hand out in a gesture of welcome, when I grabbed him roughly by the shoulders, digging my nails through his clothes and into his flesh, and pushed him toward the backroom fiercely.

"Alexander?" he gasped as I pushed him against a wall furiously.

Henmi came into the room behind us, closing the door and yelling at me to let him go.

"Shut up, Henmi!" I shouted, not looking back at him.

I shoved Adhemar further into the wall. A loud crack could be heard. My eyes felt as if they were on fire. "Do you have any idea what Sindor went through the past two nights?" I asked him loudly, spitting the words out in his face.

"Sindor?" he whispered.

"Yes, Sindor. The petit red head that insists on being your best friend."

"What happened to Sindor?" Henmi asked quietly.

"I don't know," mumbled Adhemar, looking away from me as if in defeat.

"Your own damn maker raped him," I whispered, getting real close to his right ear so he got the true impact of it. "Because of you."

I pulled back to see Adhemar's eyes widen with confusion and fear. I let him go, and he fell to the floor, astonished.

"What happened to Sindor?" demanded Henmi.

"He was attacked by..." I began angrily, but Adhemar cut me off.

"By some guy who will have his head cut off for this." Adhemar got off the floor and staggered over to Henmi. Small patches of blood could be seen where my nails had been. I was confused by the omission of a certain truth from his statement. "Don't worry, Henmi. He'll be fine. But I should go see him. I'll be back later to help you close the tavern." Adhemar practically ran out of the back door.

I took one last glance at the beyond confused Henmi and followed Adhemar out of the tavern.

I led the way back to the school, making sure we were not being followed. I did not feel anyone else's presence the entire time, which was a good thing for Adhemar's maker. I was so angry that evening that I would have ripped his head off the instant I saw him, despite Sindor's fear that he was stronger than everyone.

As we raced along, I would yell at Adhemar:

"You should have known he was around."

"I thought he was dead."

"Vampires can not be killed, Adhemar."

"But he was dead."

I sighed. "You are pathetic. Even if you thought he was dead, you should have been able to feel your own master stalking you and seeing you with Sindor."

"He never told me about what it meant to be a vampire. I only know what I have learned from you and Ella. I did not know I could feel my maker's presence."

Adhemar remained quiet in his speech, trying to remain calm as he defended his position. I could tell he was fearful though. Who is this Soterius, anyway?

We reached the school, and I let Adhemar. I sensed Sindor in the kitchen, so I led Adhemar back to where Sindor was sitting with Ella.

Alexander


Previous | Next