Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Que sera, sera
2003-01-25 - 11:34 a.m.

When I woke up the next morning, Alexander wasn't beside me. I wondered where he had gone, so I walked up out of the basement to search for him. I couldn�t find him, but I looked around at all of the work Alexander and Ella had done over the past few weeks. It really did look like a school now.

"It is amazing, is it not?" Ella asked from behind me.

I turned around to face her. "Yes; you've both worked really hard. I'm excited about it."

"Yes, so is Lex," Ella said. "He has been talking about it for the longest time. Will you be a student, Sindor?"

"I want to," I said. "But I don't know if Alexander will let me."

"He already said you could, did he not?"

"I thought he was joking�"

"Sindor, fencing is one of Lex's two passions," Ella stated. "And you are his other. Of course he will teach you. It will make him happy that you are interested in something he loves."

I smiled at her. "But� where is Alexander?"

"I do not know, Sindor," she replied. "I am sure he will be back soon."

"I wonder if he went to feed," I said. "I'm sort of hungry�"

"I would go get someone for you, Sindor, but Alexander would be angry with me for leaving you alone in the house," she stated.

"So I can't go leave to feed?" I asked, though I didn't particularly want to leave the house.

"I am afraid not, Sindor," she answered. "Once Alexander comes back, I will leave to find you someone. Sebrine needs to feed as well."

"Sebrine?" I asked, but then I remembered. "Oh, his tiger�"

"Have you seen her?" Ella asked.

"Yes, three times," I said. "And she doesn't like me."

"Oh, nonsense," Ella said with a smile, taking my hand and pulling me out of the room. "She is quite pleasant, you will see."

"A-ah! But I don't want to� She'll bite me!" I said, reluctantly following Ella.

"Only if you bite her first," Ella replied, leading me into the room where Sebrine lay curled up, her tail slowly swishing back and forth.

Ella knelt down next to Sebrine and patted her head gently, and Sebrine purred. "See? Come here, Sindor."

Hesitantly, I knelt down next to Ella. Sebrine turned her head to look up at me.

"Do not be afraid, Sindor. Here," Ella said, taking my hand and bringing it to the top of Sebrine's head and then moving it down slowly to Sebrine's back. Sebrine purred again, so I smiled slightly.

"See, Sindor?" Ella said. "She is not so bad, right?"

"I suppose not," I answered, petting Sebrine again. I knew Ella was trying to cheer me up, and I greatly appreciated her for that.

After a few more moments with Sebrine, Ella led me to the kitchen so that we could sit and wait for Alexander to arrive.

When he finally did arrive, he looked furious, and it frightened me. But he wasn't alone. Adhemar was with him. Oh, why did Alexander bring Adhemar here? He must have figured out the identity of my attacker.

I stared at Adhemar for a moment, and he stared back, a look of angst on his face. I didn't know what to say; it felt awkward to be around him, especially because his maker had told me I was to never go near him again. That thought frightened me all over again.

After exchanging a quick glance with Adhemar, Ella stood up and left the room, telling me through our mind-link that she would be back soon with someone that I could feed from.

Adhemar knelt down in front of me and took both of my hands in his. Alexander leaned against the wall with his arms crossed, looking fiercely at Adhemar.

"Sindor�" Adhemar said slowly. I still wasn't used to him saying my first name. "I� I'm so sorry�" He looked to the ground. "I had no idea�"

"It's not your fault�" I said, not wanting to speak of it any longer.

"But it is!" Adhemar said. "I should never have come here�"

"It isn't your fault�" I repeated. "If Alexander did something bad, you wouldn't blame me for it, would you?"

Adhemar paused for a moment, before saying, "Of course not, kid�"

"Then it isn't your fault," I said, my eyes beginning to fill with tears. "Right, Alexander?" I looked over to him, but he didn't answer. I turned back to Adhemar. "You've been so good to me and Henmi, so don't blame yourself. You wouldn't want to hurt us." And then a thought hit me. Why hadn't Adhemar's maker try to attack Henmi? Henmi is much closer to Adhemar than I am� Maybe his maker never went into the tavern, so he doesn't know about Henmi�

I continued, "I know you thought he was dead. I know you didn't think he could come back. I know you tried not to think of him. I know he frightened you and made you a vampire against your will. I wouldn't want think of him, either�" I trailed off, not wanting to speak of Adhemar's maker any longer. I despised him.

"I swear, kid," Adhemar said. "I'll never let him hurt you again. Even if I� Even if I have to leave."

My eyes widened. "You can't leave!" I said. "Henmi needs you!"

Before Adhemar could reply, I heard the front door open, so Ella must have come back. Alexander heard it as well, so he said, "I am leaving," and briskly walked out of the kitchen. Adhemar kissed both of my hands before standing up and following Alexander out of the house.

A moment later, Ella came into the kitchen, a body over her shoulder. She handed it to me so that I could feed. I thanked her for going out of her way for me.

After I fed, Ella gave the body to Sebrine and then we both sat back down in the kitchen again.

"Ella, why is Alexander so�?" I asked, trailing off.

"He does not want you to be afraid, Sindor," she answered. "He wants you to feel completely at ease, so he thinks he must get rid of Adhemar's maker."

"I see�" I said slowly.

"He wants to protect you, Sindor," Ella said. "He loves you, even if he does not always show it."

I looked to the floor and nodded. I was more scared for Alexander than myself, though. I hoped he would be alright, and that he would come back home soon.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next