Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

So Close If Not For Adhemar!
2003-02-06 - 5:27 p.m.

While Adhemar was talking to Sindor, I heard the front door open. I told Sindor that I was leaving. He looked a little distraught, but I needed to talk to Ella.

Ella had a body strewn over her shoulder.

"For Sindor?" I asked her.

"Of course. I am not letting him leave the house, like you said," she replied, laying the body down on the floor.

"Good. I know where this vampire is living. I plan on going to rip his head off." At this I picked up my sword from its resting place. "I want you to stay here with Sindor for the rest of the night, even if I do not return. Do you understand?" I asked her, looking intently into her eyes.

"I understand. But what about the school?"

"You can handle it. But I will return."

I hugged Ella good bye as Adhemar entered the room. I glanced at him, and then turned to leave the house. He followed after me onto the street.

"What do you plan to do?" Adhemar asked me.

"I plan on killing your maker," I replied, with no feeling.

"But you can't," he protested. "I thought he was dead before. Not even the sun was able to destroy him!"

"I know a hell of a lot more about vampires than you do. I know how we can be destroyed."

"But he is strong. And old. So much older than you. He will kill you before you even touch him."

"I think I can handle it. You do not have to come with if you are so scared." I looked at him condescendingly.

"I just think your plan is lacking. And I'm not afraid."

I snorted. I could smell his fear; it was so strong. I rounded a corner and headed for a nearby apartment.

"Where are we, anyway?" Adhemar asked.

"Be quiet!" I shouted at him.

I jumped up onto a balcony and noticed right away the presence of an elder. It was strong, and almost potent. I felt a stirring of fear as I pushed open the doors, which just happened to be unlocked. Adhemar remained below, shouting up what he should do.

"Moron," I whispered to myself as I entered the darkened room.

A lamp light flickered. I moved my head quickly in the direction of the light, poised for an attack, my hand on the hilt of my sword.

"Who is there?" came a voice out of the dark near the light. "Ah, another vampire. But you are not my Adhemar."

I remembered instantly that Sindor had slashed Soterius' eyes. He could not see a thing. Though he should have healed by now. Maybe he has not been the same since his little encounter with the sun, I thought.

I moved cautiously toward him nonetheless. I was ready to strike at any moment. I heard Adhemar's footsteps on the balcony as I glimpsed the face of Sindor's defiler.

"Adhemar!" Soterius shouted, standing up from the chair he had been resting in.

I was surprised how easily a blind vampire could recognize the presence of one of his children. I backed away as Soterius crossed the room to Adhemar. Adhemar moved back away from Soterius' touch.

"You are not happy to see me?" Soterius asked sadly.

"I thought you were dead," whispered Adhemar, full of fear.

"Oh, my child. Not even the sun can kill me. You should have known that. But no matter, we are together." Soterius reached for Adhemar again, but he pulled back.

I moved closer to the two of them, lurking in the shadows, though it did not really matter.

"And who is he?" asked Soterius, his voice rising in anger.

"He is the maker of the boy you raped," replied Adhemar, speaking up with anger through his fear.

"The red head?" he asked, amused.

"Yes," I replied, angrily.

"He speaks." Soterius sounded astounded.

"I also kill," I said maliciously.

"Should I be afraid?" Soterius laughed.

"Yes. You should be. You hurt my lover, and now I will hurt you." I raised my sword, and I was about to cut off Soterius' head, when Adhemar stopped me, receiving a nasty cut on his right forearm in the process. "You ass! What the hell are you doing?"

"You can't!"

Soterius laughed. "Even now, child, you still defend me?"

"How can you?" I asked ferociously. "Let go of my arm, Adhemar!"

"No!" he retorted. "I can't let you hurt him."

"Why not? He degraded Sindor. He would have killed him if he had the chance!"

"I know. But I just can't let you do this." Adhemar started to cry.

I was astounded. Such loyalty. Soterius was smiling, which made it worse.

"I can not even look at you right now," I spat at Adhemar.

I left the apartment. My hatred of Adhemar was renewed as I jumped off the balcony. I did not even care if Soterius hurt Adhemar then. Once Soterius destroys the Adhemar we know, I will kill both Soterius and Adhemar. Next time, Adhemar will not get in the way of my venegeance.

I got back to the school, and headed to the basement without a word to either Ella or Sindor. I vented my frustration to Sebrine in the slightly lit basement as I punched holes in the walls. Sindor came down the stairs, worried.

"I am fine, Sindor," I said sarcastically. "And apparently, so is Soterius!" I punched another hole in the wall.

"What happened?" he asked timidly, as Ella came down behind him.

"Adhemar would not let me kill Soterius, the bastard!" I yelled.

"Why would he do that?" asked Ella.

"Hell if I know!" I retorted.

"Where is Adhemar?" asked Sindor.

"I left him there." I fell onto a nearby couch. "I can do nothing for you, Sindor. Not even avenge your honor."

Sindor came and sat down next to me. "It is alright," he whispered.

"No! It is not! That bastard is still living, and so is his dirty offspring! Who knows what the hell they are doing now? Probably fucking!" I turned away from Sindor, who seemed offended by my infrequent profanity.

"The sun is almost up," informed Ella. "Maybe we should just rest now." She blew out the lights.

Sindor wrapped his arms around me in the darkness, and I held him tightly.

"I am so sorry, my love," I whispered, as I kissed him gently.

"It doesn't matter," he replied.

"But it should."

Alexander


Previous | Next