Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The First Technique
2003-02-08 - 12:29 p.m.

After Ella and I talked for a short while longer, I began to ask her questions about fencing, as I remembered that the school was going to start up soon.

"What's it like?" I asked. "Fencing, I mean."

"Well, it is like any sport, Sindor," Ella replied. "It is difficult at first, but after you are used to the specific techniques used, you become more experienced and thus better at the art."

"Hmm�" I mused. "How long did it take you and Alexander to be good at it?"

"To perfect our abilities, years, of course," she answered. "But Alexander was a natural at it. Whatever new technique was thrown at him, he could learn it very quickly. He practiced and practiced all the time. It was indeed a passion of his."

"He is really amazing at fencing, then?" I asked. "I've never seen him fence at all�"

"He is a master at the art of fencing," Ella said. "You will see tomorrow night."

"Tomorrow night?"

"Yes, that is when classes begin," she replied.

"Really?!" I asked, surprised. "I didn't know� Can I learn fencing, too? I want to go to the lesson."

"I do not see why not, Sindor," Ella said. "You seem awfully enthused about it."

"I am," I said. "But I don't know anything about fencing�"

"Do not worry, Sindor," Ella said. "Most of the people who start lessons tomorrow under Alexander's teaching will be beginners as well."

"Yes, but I feel useless when I don't know what is going on, what is happening, and when I don't know how to do anything," I admitted. "Teach me something."

"Teach you something?" She smiled. "Now?"

"Yes."

"If you insist, Sindor, but I will not be as good of a teacher as Lex will be," she answered, standing up. "Shall we go into the classroom?"

I nodded and followed her out of the kitchen and into the room where practice swords lined the walls. Ella grabbed one and brought it over to me.

"Now, Sindor, there is a specific way one must hold the sword," she said, handing it to me. "You should place your thumb and first finger around the top of the handle, and your last three fingers should not encircle the handle, but rest along the side of the handle." She moved my fingers to the correct positions on the sword. "Now, you must never grip the sword too tightly, Sindor, or your hand will become very tired very quickly. You must simply carry the sword, not grip it tightly."

I nodded, understanding.

"Next, Sindor, once you are holding your sword properly, you must stand in the on guard position. This is the stance that all fencers must begin at," she said. "First you must turn to the side, yes, but now turn your upper body slightly towards me. Good, Sindor," she said. "Now, place your legs a little father apart. Alright, now point your right foot forwards, and now your left foot to the side."

"Ow," I said, not used to having my left foot at such an angle.

"Oh, bend your knees, Sindor, then it will not hurt," she added.

I did so, and it didn't hurt quite as much.

"Now, your right arm, the arm holding your sword, should be brought up in front of you over your right leg. That elbow should be about a hand's length away from your body. Good, Sindor," she said. "Now, your left arm should be raised behind you, so both of your arms together form a graceful arch." She lifted my arm behind me, but in having her do so, I lost my balance and fell to the ground.

Ella giggled and pulled me to my feet. "I seem to have forgotten to tell you to not place all your weight on your back leg."

"I didn't!"

"You did!"

We both laughed.

Ella placed me back into the position and said, "Remember then, balance your weight evenly on both legs. And keep your back straight; if you lean too far forward, you will lose your balance again."

I did as she said, both arms raised correctly in the on guard position. "Like this?"

"Perfect, Sindor," she replied.

I smiled. "�This seems too complicated, though." I dropped my arms to my sides and stood normally again.

"Oh, come now! You have not even learned much yet!" Ella said.

"I know," I said in amusement. "Does it get easier?"

"Not at all," Ella said with a laugh.

"I see�" I said in mock-sorrow.

Before Ella could say anything further, we both heard the front door open sharply, Alexander entering. He slammed the door and walked down to the basement without saying a word to either of us.

Worried, I started to walk to him, but Ella stopped me.

"Sindor, give him a moment, please," Ella said.

"But I'm worried!" I said, panicking.

"I know, Sindor, but Alexander is violent when he is angry," she stated.

"But�" I trailed off. I wanted to see him desperately, but I really was frightened of Alexander whenever he was angry. I decided to wait a few minutes before going to see him.

Once I couldn't stand the wait any longer, I ran to the basement, Ella behind me.

Alexander was furious. He told me that he had seen Adhemar's maker, but Adhemar would not let him harm his master. Alexander said that he had left Adhemar there with Soterius.

A slight panic overcame me, and I wanted to go see Henmi, because, no doubt, Henmi would be worried if Adhemar didn't come back that evening, but Ella soon said that sunrise was approaching, so I decided instead that I would go to see Henmi the next evening before the fencing lesson began.

After Ella blew out all the candles that were scattered about the room, I laid down next to Alexander and hugged him tightly. He told me that he was sorry, and he kissed me.

I could feel my face heat up. He hadn't kissed me in so long, I had begun to forget how wonderful it felt.

But then I wondered why he should be so sorry. It really was not a problem he should have to deal with. He had so much else going on in his life; he shouldn't have to worry about me. He had fencing to worry about now. I was just happy that I was in his arms again. "It doesn't matter," I whispered back.

"But it should," he replied gravely.

I blinked in surprise. That's not what I meant, I told him through our mind-link, as not to disturb Ella. It does matter to me that you want to protect me and that you love me, it matters so much to me, but you should be concentrating on fencing now. The school opens tomorrow, after all.

He retorted, You are more important than fencing!

My breath caught for a moment after hearing his reply.

He continued, If you do not feel at ease, then I do not feel at ease. If you do not feel safe, then it is my duty to change that. I want to protect you. I need to protect you. You are my beloved, my love; how could I not want to protect you?

I, so overcome with emotion, didn't know what to say, so I simply kissed him deeply again in reply.

I love you, Sindor, he said. No matter what I do. No matter what I say. Please never forget that.

I nodded against him. I love you, too. So much.

After a moment of silence, I asked him, Lex, can I take fencing lessons, too?

Of course you can. Why could you not?

Well, I didn't know if you would want me to� I said. But Ella taught me how to stand in the on guard position while you were gone.

Did she? Alexander said.

Yes, I replied. I fell over, though. But I think I know how to do it now.

Alexander laughed softly in amusement and ruffled my hair. You will get better at it, I promise.

I hope so. I'm excited.

I am as well, Alexander replied.

We both were silent after that, and fell asleep as the sun rose to announce the beginning of the day.

When evening was upon us again, I felt Alexander softly shake me awake.

"Nnn?" I asked sleepily.

"Come on, Sindor, we have to get ready for the lesson," he said quickly, slight excitement in his voice.

I sat up, still a bit groggy, but then I remembered that I had to go see Henmi immediately. "Ah, Alexander, is it alright if I go get Henmi and have him stay here for a while? I'm worried about him."

"No," Alexander said, his voice turning grave. "I am not letting you out of my sight. I have to stay here to prepare for the lesson, and so does Ella, and I will not let you leave by yourself."

I felt my spirits sink. "But� Alexander� I'm worried! Even though Adhemar is with Soterius, Soterius could still hurt Henmi! He could kill Henmi without even trying! Please, Alexander� I'm really worried�"

He started to say something, but then he stopped, and looked away from me for a moment in silence.

"Please, Alexander?" I asked again.

Alexander sighed and said, "�you had best hurry, then. I'm serious."

I stood up and hugged Alexander and I told him I would be careful. Afterwards, I ran out of the house and towards the tavern. I ran all the way there, somewhat afraid to stop.

I arrived without any trouble at all, much to my relief. Henmi was standing behind the counter, looking definitely distraught, so I walked over to him quickly.

"Sin?" he said when I approached. He then hurriedly said, "Are you alright? What happened? Alexander said you were attacked! But have you seen Adhemar? He didn't come home last night. Oh, I'm so worried, Sin! He isn't at your house, right? Do you know where he is? Have you seen him?"

I didn't know what to say to him at first. I didn't want to talk to him about what had happened to me; it was too painful to talk about. "�No, Adhemar isn't with us. But I'm sure he's safe, Henmi, don't worry."

"How can I not worry?!" he said severely. "What if something happened to him?"

"I'm� really sure he's okay, Henmi," I said, not quite sure of myself. "But I want you to come with me, Henmi, to the school, alright?"

"What? Now? But I'm working!" Henmi said. "And what if Adhemar comes back?"

"I'm sure Adhemar will know where to find you," I said. "But I really need you to come with me."

"Why?" he asked slowly.

I didn't know if I was really ready to him, so I simply said, "Because I worry about you when Adhemar isn't with you. Now I'm going to tell Isabelle that you're leaving."

"What? But Sin--"

I didn't hear his further protest as I went to find Isabelle. I told her to watch over the tavern while Henmi was gone, and I told Christian as well, in case Isabelle needed help.

Afterwards, I went into Henmi's bedroom to grab a coat for him and then I walked back over to him. I handed him his coat.

"Sin, this is too sudden!" he said.

"I know, Henmi, but you must trust me," I said vaguely.

Henmi sighed and put on his coat and followed me out of the tavern without another word of pretest.

I walked quickly, and held Henmi close to me, looking all around us cautiously as we walked to the school.

"Sin, what's wrong?" Henmi asked.

"Nothing, Henmi," I answered as we approached the school.

To my utmost relief, we had not encountered anyone on the way home. In the back of my mind, I prayed that Adhemar was alright, though.

When we entered the house, Alexander was there to greet us, clad in his black fencing uniform.

I blushed. He looked charming.

Alexander said, "I am glad you are home. Your outing was harmless, I wager?"

I nodded.

"The students should be arriving soon," Alexander said. "Would you like a uniform, Sindor?"

I smiled and nodded. I told Henmi that he could sit in the classroom and watch the lesson if he wanted to. He agreed wearily, still unsure of what was going on and why he was at the school. I felt so awkward not telling him, and I figured he would find out sooner or later, but I just didn't want to talk to him about any of it. I followed Alexander into a room across from the classroom that held all of the brown student uniforms.

I found one that was my size and changed quickly so I could go back in with Henmi. He was sitting up against the wall in the classroom, still looking quite depressed. I knelt in front of him and said, "Henmi, I'm sure Adhemar is just fine."

"But he said he'd be back before sunrise, and he didn't come back! I'm so worried, Sin� so worried�" Henmi buried his face in his hands.

I pulled him close to me and hugged him tightly. "Please, Henmi, Adhemar wouldn't want you to cry. �He's really going to make fun of you for worrying when he gets back."

Henmi laughed softly. He nodded and wiped the tears off of his face with the back of his hand. "Did you ever feel this way about Alexander?"

"I always feel like this about Alexander. I'm always worried about him," I said. "And sometimes I worry unnecessarily. So that's why you shouldn't cry. Because Adhemar will be just fine, I'm sure of it."

Henmi nodded, so I sat down next to him, waiting for the other students to arrive.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next