Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Lib�rez-moi
2003-02-21 - 9:05 p.m.

The fencing lesson was a complete success. I was overjoyed to see Alexander so energetic and cheerful.

Once the lesson was over, Alexander, Ella, and I left Henmi at the house to go feed. We were all still in a state of complete euphoria because of the successful lesson.

After we came back from feeding, we looked around the rooms on the main level, but we couldn't find Henmi, so Alexander and I searched upstairs for him. We found him in a spare bedroom sleeping, curled up and hugging the bear Adhemar had given him closely. I wondered how he had gotten it. I knew he hadn't brought it with us when we left the tavern. But, not wanting to disturb Henmi, I decided that I would find out about it in the morning.

Near morning, Alexander and I crept to the basement to sleep close to one another throughout the day.

When the sun finally did set once more, I woke up immediately. I turned to Alexander and kissed him, and said, "Lex? Lex, I'm going to go check on Henmi."

Alexander, with his eyes still closed, nodded slightly in acknowledgement, but then rolled over and tried to get back to sleep.

I smiled. I knew he was terribly tired from the lesson the day before, so I decided not to bother him any further. I stood up and walked upstairs to see Henmi.

I found him in the bedroom still, but sleeping in a different position, as if he had woken up sometime during the day. I scanned his mind quickly. He was tired, mostly because he had not slept the whole day that Adhemar had not come home. He was terribly worried for Adhemar. And because of this, he hadn't eaten during that day either. I scolded myself mentally for not noticing. I could see very well now that he was hungry; he was pale and his stomach growled softly from time to time, and of course he was weak, naturally.

I sat down next to him and hoped that he would wake up soon. After a short while, he hadn't woken up, so I shook him softly awake. "Henmi?" I said, brushing his hair away from his face.

His eyes fluttered open slowly, as he was still very tired. "Sin?"

"Still tired? Have you slept all day?" I asked him.

"Not all day�" Henmi said, rubbing his eyes. "I woke up sometime in the daytime, but everyone else was already sleeping, so I went back to sleep."

"How did you� I mean, who brought you your bear?" I asked. "Did Adhemar come here?"

Henmi hugged the bear to his chest. "After you left," he said. "He didn't want to come when Alexander was here, because he knew Alexander would be mad."

"Is he alright? What happened?" I asked quickly, surprised that Adhemar had come to the school.

"He knocked on the door," Henmi said, "But I couldn't open it. Alexander locked it when you left, so I opened a window."

"Henmi, you shouldn't do that--"

"I shut it after he came in!" Henmi said defensively. "No one else came in, I swear."

"I know, but what if Alexander had come back? He would have been furious at you!" I said truthfully.

"Why doesn't Alexander like Adhemar? I don't understand!" Henmi said.

"But what happened when you let Adhemar in?" I asked, changing the subject.

"He hugged me� and then he gave me my bear. He said he looked for me at the tavern, but I wasn't there, so he thought I would be here," Henmi said. "He said he would try to come to the tavern tonight. Oh, Sin, can we go see him? I'm so worried! He looked horrible when I saw him last night!"

"Alexander will never allow that�" I said regretfully. I wanted to see Adhemar, too, but I knew that Lex would not be happy with me for doing so. I felt like a slave in a sense, only doing what I thought Alexander would like, what would please Alexander.

"It doesn't matter!" Henmi said. "Tell Alexander that I forced you to go so that I am at fault. Please, Sin?"

"Henmi, when was the last time that you ate something?" I asked, not answering his question.

"I-I don't know� two nights ago, or something. But that doesn't matter! What about Adhemar?" Henmi asked frantically.

"Then we should go to the tavern and get you something," I said. "Alexander surely wouldn't object to that."

Henmi smiled and hugged me tightly. "Thank you, Sin�"

I released him and told him to follow me downstairs. Ella greeted us at the bottom of the staircase.

"Alexander told me he would be back shortly," she said. "He went to look around a bit, just to survey the area. He will be back soon, though."

"Ella, I want to take Henmi to the tavern to get something to eat�" I said.

"Is it urgent?" Ella asked Henmi, who nodded vigorously. "I will go get you something then," Ella said to him.

"But I want to go," Henmi said. "I'm not a child�"

"I know, Henmi, but it may be dangerous," Ella told him.

"I don't care�" Henmi said.

I looked over at Ella. Can't you read his mind? I asked her. Adhemar said he would be at the tavern. And Henmi is desperate to see Adhemar. You can come with us, if you like.

She sighed. But Alexander will disapprove. Furthermore, it is dangerous.

But we will not be in any danger if Adhemar is near, I'm sure of it. �Please, Ella?

Henmi looked at both of us uncertainly. "What�?" he asked.

"Fine," Ella said. "But we have to hurry. You are just getting food and then we are coming back."

Henmi nodded gratefully and I thanked Ella over and over again through our mind link.

We walked briskly to the tavern with no interruptions. Henmi was anxious all the way there, urging us to walk faster.

When we did arrive, we entered immediately, and, to Henmi's utmost relief, Adhemar was indeed there. He looked dreadful, however, sitting with his head lowered and his shoulders slouched forward. Adhemar seemed exhausted and drained as well. He looked up at us as we entered.

Immediately he stood up and faced us. Henmi, without saying anything, ran into Adhemar's arms and hugged him tightly. Adhemar put his left arm loosely around Henmi as well, but still looked back at Ella and me. With his right arm, he beckoned us to come forward.

I stepped forward and took his hand in mine, glad to see him again.

"I'm so sorry, Arnon," he said, his voice cracked with sorrow. He eyes were beginning to fill with tears, and I was immediately surprised. He had never cried in front of me before. What kind of person was Soterius, I asked myself, if he could break even a strong person like Adhemar?

"Adhemar�" I said. "It isn't your fault� I've told you before, and now again, it wasn't your fault. Please, stop blaming yourself�"

He looked away from me and said, "But if I wouldn't have come here--"

"Then me and Henmi, none of us would have you, and we want you to be here," I said forcefully.

He nodded and pulled me into the hug as well, Henmi still holding onto him fiercely. When he released me, he held out his hand for Ella to take. Ella looked at him for a moment, before taking his hand in hers. He kissed her hand gently and said, "I'm sorry, your highness�"

Ella opened her mouth to say something, but then looked over at Henmi. "Henmi, why do you not go find something to eat?"

Henmi shook his head 'no' to her question.

Adhemar looked down and Henmi and said softly, "Hey, now. You need to eat something, you hear me? I don't want you to be sick because of me."

Immediately, Henmi nodded and released Adhemar, and left to do get something behind the counter.

Adhemar slumped back down onto his chair, so we sat down across from him.

"Why did you stop Alexander?" Ella asked him suddenly.

"I don't know�" Adhemar said regretfully. "I panicked. Just being in the room with my master made me feel strange. I could feel his power, his age. I was scared. I don't know why I did it. I shouldn't have. But I was scared for Alexander. If anything happened to Alexander, both of you would be so unhappy�"

"Adhemar," I said. "What happened? You look terrible�"

"I can't sleep during the day� I'm frightened," Adhemar admitted. "I'm scared of his power�"

"Why is he not with you now?" Ella asked.

"I begged him to let me alone for awhile every night, and he finally agreed," Adhemar said. "But I can't take it much longer� I want to be back with Henmi�"

"What are you going to do now?" I asked.

"I don't know� I have to go back to him soon, or he will start searching for me� And I don't want that� I don't want him to hurt any of you," Adhemar said. "That's why you must leave quickly, and so must I."

At that, Henmi ran back over to us, having finished his food quickly. He sat down close to Adhemar.

Adhemar turned to Henmi and said, "I want you to stay with Sindor, alright? Alexander and Sindor and Ella will keep you safe."

I could almost feel Ella's surprise at Adhemar's use of her name.

Henmi nodded. "I�ll stay with them forever, I promise! But please don't leave me; you have to visit me again soon. Please?"

"I will try, my love," Adhemar said. "But I do not think Alexander cares much for my company any longer�"

"I will beg him to let you in," Henmi said, hugging Adhemar again.

Adhemar sighed, his eyes misting over with red tears again. "You're such a sweet boy; why do you want to be around me? I am horrid!"

"Because I love you!" Henmi said quickly. "You're not horrid; you're not horrid at all!" Henmi pulled Adhemar's head down and kissed him deeply.

I looked over at Ella. You really want to break that up? To go along with Alexander would be doing just that.

I never said I went along with Alexander's ruling, she replied.

Why wouldn't you, though? You're on his side about everything, I thought to her, probably more hostile than I intended. She didn't make a reply.

Adhemar said to Henmi, "I'm sorry, my love, but I have to leave. I've been here way too long." Adhemar then turned to Ella and I and said, "Stay here for a few minutes after I leave, and then you can leave yourselves. I don't want him to hurt you, so stay here until I am far away."

I nodded as Adhemar stood up from his chair. He turned once more to Henmi and said, "I'll see you soon, Henmi�" Henmi nodded, so Adhemar turned and left the tavern quickly. Henmi stared blankly after him.

We waited in silence for a few more minutes before I stood up and gathered some more food in a bundle for Henmi to eat later at home. Afterwards, we left the tavern and headed quickly home.

When we entered, I was surprised to find Alexander waiting right inside the door for us. He looked so angry, I was afraid of what he was going to say to me for leaving without his permission.

I pushed Henmi gently towards the stairs, Alexander's glare still upon me. After Henmi slowly crept up the stairs, I handed Ella the bag of food that I brought with me and mentally told her to please go put it in the kitchen for me.

After she left, I leaned back against the front door and looked to the ground, expecting Alexander at any moment to scold me severely.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next