Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Master Brusque's Surprise
2003-06-21 - 3:32 p.m.

The next evening, I awoke to feelings of overwhelming emotions. I left the coffin and began pacing as thoughts raced in my head. What am I doing? Why am I being so naive? Why would he be happy about this? By the time Adhemar came to retrieve me, I was frantic.

"Ready to go, Lex?" he asked as he entered the room and placed my mask and sword on the bed. "Wait, why aren't you dressed yet?"

"What if he does not like it? What if he hates me even more for leaving again? You know I meant to do it." I continued my barrage of questions to Adhemar.

Adhemar remained silent during my rant. When I came to a stop to catch my breath, Adhemar took the opportunity to slap me. It was not a hard slap, but it definitely awoke me.

"For what was that?" I asked, nervously placing my hand on my cheek.

"Calm down, Lex. Everything will be fine. Sindor will love it, I promise. He loves you. Now stop this nonsense and get dressed." He threw the extravagant suit that I had bought for the occasion at me.

I had finally come to my senses. I felt assured of myself as I took the garment and dressed quickly. If I had taken any more time the lesson would have started without me. Adhemar helped me with my hair. I never usually pulled it back, so Adhemar did it for me. It needed to be up so that Sindor would not recognize me right away through the mask. Looking in the mirror, I saw the distinguished gentleman that I had known before I was turned. I smiled at Adhemar in the mirror.

"Looks good," he said, fiddling with my hair a little more.

"Good enough," I retorted, all apprehensions gone. I turned to the bed where my fencing mask and sword lay and picked them up.

Adhemar grabbed all the packages as I headed for the door.

"What did you tell Sindor?" I asked as we made our way to the school through the darkened night.

"That I was going out to feed while the lesson was going on. He knows nothing of what is to happen, Lex. Don't worry. It will be quite the surprise."

"Good. Did you tell him not to feed? You knew we needed him in the house all evening."

"Yes, Lex. He was upset, but I told him he could afterwards. He had woken up too late to leave anyway. Sin was dressing when I left."

"Alright. And Ella is all set?"

"Sure is."

"And Henmi?"

"Right as rain."

"Did you see Judas coming to the school?" I asked, worried that the little brat would ruin everything. My pretenses came back to me for a moment.

"Nope. Don't worry, Lex, he won't try anything. You said so yourself."

I sighed. "Right." I still was not sure.

We finally reached the school. I could see through the front windows into the classroom. Ella was, I assumed, well into a new lesson for the evening and seemed almost done.

"Ella is all set, alright," I whispered. "Henmi should be at the door. Where is he?"

Henmi just then opened the door. He motioned for us to enter the house quickly. Before I did, though, I placed my mask over my head, making sure to hide my hair up in it, just in case Sindor saw me when I came into the house.

When we were inside, Henmi ushered us into the changing room across from the classroom and then closed the door. I could hear Ella instructing the class in a very commanding tone. I knew she could do it, I thought to myself with a smile hidden by my mask.

Once we were settled in the dressing room, I took off my mask. Adhemar placed the packages on the bench and said hello to Henmi. He then sat on the bench, and Henmi sat on his lap. They looked very comfortable together.

"You made sure Sebrine was in the basement, right?" I asked, once again feeling uncomfortable.

"Yes. I did it myself," replied Henmi. "Don't worry, Lex, I did everything you told me to do. All that is left is up to you now."

"Is Sin not curious that you are not in the classroom?"

"I told him what you told me to tell him. I was waiting at the door just in case anyone else came to the door and then I would be joining him in the room. So, once you are ready, I will tell Ella about your esteemed arrival." Henmi smiled excitedly.

I exhaled slowly. I placed the mask over my head again. "Do I look alright in this?"

"You look fine, Lex. The outfit goes well enough with the mask," replied Adhemar.

"Then I suppose I am ready to do this," I stated.

"You suppose?" asked Adhemar, gently pushing Henmi off and facing me. "You should know, Lex. This is very important for all of us, but especially Sindor. You should be as sure of yourself as you are of your love for him about this, you understand?"

"Yes, Adhemar. I am ready now."

Henmi opened the door and walked across to the classroom. Ella's speech was suddenly silented. Henmi passed the door on his way to Sindor after he finished talking to Ella. He gave us the secret sign of approval with a yawn. Ella then changed her speech.

"Class, I have a surprise for you this evening. I had almost forgotten about it until just now. Master LeNoir had arranged for this long before he left, and he had forgotten to remind me. But now, I would like to introduce to you a master swordsman who has taken his valuable time to visit us this evening." She concluded with a slight aside, "Do not mind the mask. He is very sensitive about his face."

The class burst out into applause, and I entered the room. Adhemar remained outside the classroom to watch from afar. I walked over to Ella and thanked her before turning to the class. I noticed instantly Sindor's curious look at the back of the room. I also noticed that Judas was not in attendance.

I quieted the class and spoke to them in a different voice. Being a vampire allowed for such advantages.

"Good evening, students. I am Master Brusque. Since Master LeNoir is a good friend of mine from Paris, I decided to visit him and his wonderful new school. Unfortunately, I have been told of his sudden absence. I will just remain to watch, so if you please, Mademoiselle LeNoir, continue," I said.

"But Master Brusque, you have come so far. Surely you will demonstrate something for the class," insisted Ella.

"I suppose I could see how well LeNoir has been teaching. Show me your best student, and I will show you my best," I consented, removing my cape and revealing my sword from its sheath.

Ella looked around the class at anxious faces. She took her time before deciding on Sindor.

"Sindor, come up here," she said with a smile, gesturing to him.

Sindor held back. "I couldn't possibly. I am not that good."

"You are the best so far. Show this man how well Lex has taught you," Ella insisted once more.

"Yeah, Sin, I want to see you in action," encouraged Henmi, pushing him forward.

Sindor glanced suspiciously at Henmi. Then he reluctantly approached the front of the class. He held his sword against his leg and looked apprehensively at me. I could tell that he was straining to see through the mask, but I had picked it well to cover my face from all detection.

"Well, I am pleased to meet you, Sindor," I said, extending my gloved hand.

He took it and replied, "Yes. It is an honor meeting another accomplished fencer."

"Well, thank you. Now show me what your master has taught you."

Sindor hesitantly raised his sword in the en garde position as the students backed off to observe. I followed his example and moved my sword into position.

"Strike first, young one," I ordered.

He did so, finally regaining his composure. Sindor made a valiant effort of tagging me, and I admit I was going easy on him, barely defending myself, but he never succeeded in doing so. I should really give him those private lessons about which we talked, I thought.

"You are pretty good," I commented as we circled each other.

"Not really," he admitted, blushing slightly.

"Sure you are. Any one going against an unknown opponent has already proven themselves to be well on their way to greatness."

I moved in to strike Sindor then, and he moved to block me, but I was too quick for him. I succeeded in disarming him in a trick about which he did not know. I then knocked him to the floor with a sudden jolt of the shoulder. He fell back hard on the floor, but it certainly did not hurt his strong vampire body. He looked up at me with fear mixed with admiration.

"'Tis a pity to fall on this of all days, Sindor," I said in my true voice.

He looked confusedly at me, recognizing my voice. I removed my mask much to the amazement of the other students, but especially Sindor's.

"When one celebrates their birthday, one must never be cast down," I remarked.

Sindor began breathing heavily as he realized that I was truly standing in front of him. He became so excited suddenly that he jumped up and threw his arms around my neck in a loving hug.

"Oh, Lex! I thought you left me," he exclaimed in my ear.

"No, I merely remained in hiding to surprise you on your birthday."

Sindor hugged me tighter. "I can't believe you remembered my birthday!"

Let me go, Sindor. I will explain later, but the class must be tended to before that, I thought to him.

He reluctantly released me. I turned to the class.

"I am sorry for my deception, my students, but I think you can understand my reasons for wanting to surprise Sindor," I told them.

They nodded and exclaimed agreements.

"But since tonight is Sindor's birthday, I have decided to take him out for a celebration. We will be finishing up the class now, but you are welcome to join us after midnight at The Impuret� tavern."

They agreed again and were talking excitedly of the celebration as they left to change their clothes. Some of them even wished Sindor a happy birthday. Ella and Henmi then followed them out of the room, closing the door, to leave Sindor and I alone.

Sindor had never taken his eyes off of me. He was smiling so widely that I was afraid his face might stay that way. I told him so.

"You left me," he whispered, the smile fading as tears welled up in his eyes.

"I know I did." I brushed aside a blood tear that had fallen. "But I have come back for you.�

"Why did you leave me?" he asked so desperately. "You didn't even say good bye."

"I know what I did was wrong, but I felt I could do nothing else," I began.

"I would have understood if you had talked to me."

"I know, my beloved." I placed my hand on his cheek. "I just wanted to be alone. But I am better now. Besides, I plan on taking you with me." I smiled at him.

"Take me where?" he asked curiously.

"I wanted to leave for France on a search for my own family, Sindor. I thought I needed to do so alone, but it will do me a great service if you were at my side instead. I have already booked passage for the two of us, and the ship leaves in two days."

Sindor seemed ecstatic.

"But that is just the first present for my birthday boy."

"First present? Oh, Lex, you just being here is present enough for me," he exclaimed.

I kissed him passionately then. It had been a long time since I had felt that I could truly put all of myself into our kisses. I wrapped my arms around his small waist and held him to me. He wrapped his arms around my neck, seeming to never want to let go.

I pulled back from him though. "That was present number two."

"How many presents are there?" he asked happily.

"Quite a few more, actually. But the best one for tonight is tickets for all of us to see the opera."

Sindor looked as if he were to faint. I really believed I was the only thing holding him up at that moment.

Just then, Ella, Adhemar and Henmi entered through the door. Each of them was wearing fine evening attire much like my own, all ready for the opera. They each had gifts in hand as well. I released Sindor and led him over to them.

Henmi presented his gift first. "Happy Birthday, Sindor. I hope you like it."

Sindor received it with glee. He ripped through the paper around the gift quickly, revealing a glass music box. He looked at it as if he might break it or cry on it.

"It is beautiful, Henmi. Thank you." Sindor hugged his brother.

"It is the melody that you liked so much when we were younger."

Sindor opened the box, filling the room with the sweet tones of the small box. Tears came back to his eyes.

"Don't cry, Arnon. We aren't even done yet," said Adhemar, taking the music box and placing his gift in Sin's hands.

Sindor ripped through that one quickly as well. Adhemar's gift was an elaborate comb and brush set.

"They are wonderful, Adhemar," Sindor whispered with awe.

"I thought you might like some nice things for that empty dresser upstairs," commented Adhemar.

Sindor threw his arms around Adhemar. "Thank you so much."

Adhemar released him. "It was nothing, Arnon."

"Here is my gift, Sindor," said Ella, passing her gift to Sin.

Sindor was so happy by now that he could barely manage to break the packaging on Ella's gift. It was a silk handkerchief with Sindor's initials on them. I had bought it for him, but allowed Ella to give it to him, as she had no time to buy a gift herself. He gently rubbed his fingers along its smooth surface.

"Oh, Ella, it is too much," he said, stifling another tear.

"Nothing is too much for the ones we love, Sin. Enjoy," she replied, hugging him.

As Sindor looked over his nice gifts, I took a large package from Adhemar and gave it to Sindor. He looked surprised at it.

"Open it, Sin," I commanded.

"But this is too much. More than I deserve," he whimpered.

"You deserve far more than this for all that you have endured," I responded. "Open it."

Sindor opened it to reveal lovely evening clothes to match my own for the opera. He was so shocked with joy that he barely saw what was there.

"You better hurry up and get ready, Arnon, or you will make us late for the opera," said Adhemar.

He nodded slowly. "You have overwhelmed me so much," he whispered. He could barely add, "I love you all."

Sindor hugged us all again, remaining in my arms the longest. I led Sin up the stairs to change in our room. I had to help him into his clothes as he was far too excited and overjoyed to do it himself. Once he was fully dressed, I turned him around to look in the mirror.

"Do you not look beautiful?" I asked.

He smiled euphorically at me in the mirror.

"One more present," I said, removing a small box from my jacket pocket.

Sindor turned to me. Before he could stop me, I held it in front of him on my palm. He looked at it with delight.

"What is it?" he asked.

"Open it, and find out."

Sindor slowly opened the box and gasped at the gold ring inside.

"It is nothing fancy, but I thought it elegant enough to grace your finger, my love," I said.

Sindor burst into new tears as I placed the ring on his finger. He glanced at it as I did so.

"This is too much, Lex," he whispered.

�I have wronged you more times than I would like to remember, Sindor. Tonight, I will try my best to make it all up to you once and for all, though I do not even deserve your glance,� I declared.

�I love you so much, Alexander. How could I not forgive you?� Sindor kissed me once again.

�Happy birthday, my darling,� I whispered after I had broken the kiss.

He smiled at me even wider than before. �Thank you so much.�

I took hold of his hand and led him to the door. "Come now, or like Adhemar said, we will be late."

We descended the stairs and met up with the others in the classroom. I quickly threw on my cape as Ella placed Sindor�s new handkerchief in his breast pocket. Then I led all of us out into the night to thoroughly enjoy Sindor's birthday.

We had box seats at the opera house, as a result of Adhemar�s good taste. The opera was lovely, and I was sure Sindor enjoyed it. As we sat in the box, he kept his hand on mine as though if he did not touch me I would vanish. I hoped to change that for the future. It almost hurt me that he felt so.

After the show, we all headed for Impuret�. The tavern was packed with our students as well as the normal costumers. We celebrated late into the night before slipping back to our home. Adhemar left us briefly as we approached the school to retrieve his coffin.

�So, there really isn�t a home near here for Henmi and Adhemar,� Sindor asked as I opened the door to the school.

�No. I told him to tell you that so that he would have a reason to be out for a long time to help me. Adhemar and Henmi are going no where,� I answered.

�Did you know about all of this, Henmi?� Sin asked when we were inside the house, trying to hide his happiness.

�I knew about it almost from the beginning. I was the one to tell Lex of your birthday,� Henmi responded with a grin.

�Were you in on all of this too, Ella?�

�Not until last night,� she said, glancing at me with a frown on her face.

�So we lied a little to you,� I said. �Everything is better now, right?�

�Yes,� answered Sindor. �Much better.�

Sindor and I retreated to our room after saying good night to Ella and Henmi. I definitely made it up to Sindor that night with kisses a plenty, warm words that set him crying again, and a romantic embrace under the covers of our bed.

We ended the night in each other�s arms inside of the coffin.

�I�m so glad to have you by my side again,� he whispered, kissing me.

�I am glad to be here where I belong with you, my love.�

Alexander


Previous | Next