Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Unexpected Surprise.
2003-06-22 - 3:09 a.m.

The next evening, I awoke slowly and reluctantly, still having had another unpleasant day of attempting to sleep. I knew I should get up swiftly, however, for a fencing lesson was this evening, and Ella would need my help.

I sighed as I stepped out of my coffin. Today was my birthday, wasn't it. Henmi and I had not done much birthday celebrating since father died, as we did not have much money for presents or anything of that nature. But it did not matter, I decided. But perhaps I could get Henmi, Adhemar, and Ella to go out with me tonight for the occasion--that is, if Adhemar would let me out of the house to do more than just feed. I wondered why he was acting as such.

Right when I reached for my clothes to change, I heard a knock on my door. I answered it immediately.

Adhemar stood outside my room, a smile on his face. "Hiya. Just wanted to make sure you got up. Lesson's going to start in a couple minutes."

"Really?" I said, surprised. "Am I really that late? I have to go feed--"

"--there isn't enough time for that, kid," Adhemar replied.

"But I need to before the lesson," I insisted.

"You can afterwards, kid," Adhemar replied.

I could feel my brow crease slightly in anger. "Fine," I said hotly.

"You'll be fine, Arnon," he replied. "Just get ready quickly, okay? I'm going to go out to feed though, and I'll be back soon." At that, he walked out of the hallway and down the stairs.

I wondered what his problem was, pushing me around and so forth. I shrugged it off and got changed, and then walked downstairs.

Most of the students had already arrived. I looked around the classroom and noticed immediately that Judas was not present. I wondered why he was not here, but I did not care much. He made me uneasy, after all.

I walked over to Ella and asked her what we would be learning today, but she said that she did not need my help tonight, and that she would manage on her own.

"Are you sure?" I asked her. "If you need anything, I will always help."

She smiled. "It is alright, Sindor," she said. "I want you to watch today, like the rest of the students."

I nodded and left her at that, walking over to the back of the room to take my spot. During the lesson, she taught us several new attack stances, ones very different from those that Alexander had taught us. I was slightly excited to learn something new.

Near the end of the lesson, Henmi started to leave the room, so I stopped him and said, "Where are you going?"

"Ella told me to watch the door to see if someone else comes," Henmi replied.

"Is she expecting someone else?" I asked curiously.

Henmi shrugged. "I don't know, but if she is, I had better hurry to keep watch. You keep practicing, though, okay?" He smiled at me.

I nodded and returned to my place in my row of students.

A few minutes later, Henmi came back in the room and whispered something in Ella's ear, then returned to his place next to me. I wondered what he had said, but before I could ask him, Ella informed us that a visitor had arrived, a master fencer, one of Lex's friends from France. I wondered when Alexander had decided to send for this person, for he had never mentioned it to me.

The man entered, masked, and asked if he might duel with the most talented fencer in our class. I prayed Ella would not pick me, and I winced slightly when she said, "Sindor, come up here."

I felt a chill go up my spine and I held my sword tightly in my hands, very nervous. "I couldn't possibly," I insisted emphatically, hoping she would pick someone else. "I am not that good." And I really wasn't, but no one in the room was that good. We had only had a three lessons after all, tonight's being the fourth lesson. I thought Ella should duel with this visitor. She was truly Lex's best student.

Furthermore, I did not want to make a fool of myself in front of everyone. I could not comprehend why Ella would pick me to do this, me, who had never touched a sword before a little over a week ago. And now she was insisting that I duel with this fencing master, who had probably studied and practiced for years. I was embarrassed beyond belief!

"You are the best so far," Ella said, not faltering on her decision to pick me. "Show this man how well Lex has taught you."

I was further embarrassed. I did not want to do it, but all eyes in the classroom were on me, silently demanding that I go to the front of the room to duel, as not to be rude and ignore the visitor's request. Henmi even pushed me towards the front of the room anxiously.

I kept my eyes to the ground at first, wondering how miserable I would look during this ordeal. I told myself not to think about it, but how could I not? The situation, however illogical and embarrassing, was set up before me and there was no way I could escape it.

When I stood before Master Brusque, I looked up at his masked face, wondering what he really looked like. It made me even more uneasy to duel with someone whose face I could not even see.

Reluctantly, I assumed the en garde position, watching Master Brusque mirror my stance. I could feel everyone's eyes still watching me, and it made me feel uncomfortable and nervous. I never felt like this when I was just demonstrating stances or various moves for the class, but this was different. It was as if I was representing the class, and the other students were counting on me to not make the class' talent level look totally miserable. I'm sorry, I thought cynically to myself, but I'm going to disappoint you all.

He ordered me firmly to begin, so I did so, trying my best. I could tell instantly that he was being easy with me, and that annoyed me a little.

"You are pretty good," he commented vigorously.

"Not really," I admitted truthfully, blushing a little. Now he was treating me like a child, lying like that! I wanted to end the duel immediately; it was all too embarrassing.

Suddenly, he lunged at me, and I tried to stop him, but he was extremely fast. He struck me again and I fell to the ground, defeated. I felt the color spread further across my face. But still, I looked up at him with respect and admiration; he was very good, after all.

"'Tis a pity to fall on this of all days, Sindor," he said. But� that voice� it sounds like� like� My eyes widened slightly.

The alleged Master Brusque raised his hands to his mask and took it off in one quick motion. Standing before me was no foreign fencing master, but instead none other than my beloved Alexander.

My jaw fell slightly in astonishment. A myriad of questions plagued my mind, but I could not find the sense to ask for answers; I only stood up and hugged Alexander tightly, so thrilled that he was still in New Orleans, still with me, and on my birthday.

I didn't know what to think at first. Before I could ask him anything, he told me gently through our mind-link to release him, and that he needed to address the other students first. I released him reluctantly, but felt a bit embarrassed for hugging him in front of all the other students. I did not want to ruin Alexander's reputation, and receiving a desperate and loving hug in public from me, another man, was just the thing that could ruin it.

He told the other students that later on, after midnight, we were all to meet at the tavern to celebrate my birthday. I was ecstatic. I could not believe that he knew about my birthday. I had not ever told him, so he must of either gotten it from my mind without my knowing, or perhaps he had asked Henmi about it. Whatever the case, he was here, and not anywhere else. He was here with me, and that is all that mattered.

Everyone besides Alexander and I filed out the classroom, chatting amongst themselves.

I still could not believe that Alexander was in front of me; the whole situation felt like a dream.

I felt tears welling up in my eyes as I asked him why he left me, why he didn't tell me when he was leaving, why he did not speak to me at all about his problem before leaving. I told him that I would have understood if he had told me, and I really would have.

He then told me that he had planned to go to France, but instead of going alone, he decided that he would rather have me along with him. I could not believe what I was hearing at first, but once it sunk it, I was so excited, so happy that Alexander would let me come with him. I had never dreamed that he would ever ask me to come along with him on a trip, for he had never done so before.

He told me that the trip was only one of many presents that I would receive that evening, and I felt overwhelmed. I told him truthfully, "Oh, Lex, you just being here is present enough for me." At that, he held me closely and kissed me so passionately; I felt as if I would die from the euphoric feelings I was having during the kiss.

Next, he told me that our family would be attending the opera this evening, and I became further overwhelmed. I knew I would not be able to take much more of this; my excitement and joy was just too much.

A moment later, Ella, Henmi, and Adhemar rejoined us, carrying in more presents for me. I had never been so happy in my life. I hugged and expressed my love for all four of them for their absolutely loving gestures. I truly had not been expecting anything like this. I did not feel I deserved such appreciation, such adoration, such a showing of love. I could not help but let my tears of happiness fall.

Alexander took me upstairs to get changed into a beautiful new suit that he had given me for my birthday. My mind was numb from so much joy; I was not used to it at all, but was so pleased with all of it.

When I thought that we could be bound in no other ways, he then presented me with a golden ring. He took my left hand in his and slid the ring onto my fourth finger, all the while saying how he would make up to me all of the wrongdoings that he had done against me. I was so overwhelmed with joy that I did not know what to say, how to say how I really felt. I told him I loved him so much, and decided that that would suffice, and kissed him deeply again. Afterwards, we departed for the opera house.

All the while that we walked to the opera house, I moved the fingers of my left hand around so I could feel the ring, to assure my mind that it really was there. I felt so special, like I belonged to someone, to Alexander, and that it would be so for eternity. Oh, I could never express how much I loved Alexander, especially that night, for it was a love of infinite proportions.

During the show, I held Alexander's hand in mine, somewhat to assure myself that he was really here with me, that I wasn't just imagining it all.

But the show was amazing, and even more so because I was with Alexander. I had not experienced such a thing since I was a child, and I, as well as the rest of our family, enjoyed the show this evening immensely, Henmi especially.

After the show, we all walked cheerily to Impuret� to further celebrate. I wondered how on earth I was ever going to be able to thank Alexander and the others for doing this, for putting on the charade and surprising me in such a manor.

Later in the evening, we started walking back to the school. Before we reached the school, Adhemar left us, saying, "I'm going to get my coffin, but I'll be back soon."

When he had left, I asked, "What? Isn't his coffin at the school?"

"No; I had been using it, Sindor," Alexander replied, holding my hand in his.

"But� what about their house?" I asked. "What is going on now?"

"They do have a house," Alexander replied. "With us at the school."

My jaw lowered in surprise, and then I smiled with excitement. "So, there really isn�t a home near here for Henmi and Adhemar?" I asked hopefully.

"No. I told him to tell you that so that he would have a reason to be out for a long time to help me," Alexander replied. "Adhemar and Henmi are going no where."

I smiled and hugged Alexander again, and thanked him. I was not certain before that Alexander had wanted them in he house, but he said it so sincerely now, I could not help but believe him. He also seemed to be friendly with Adhemar, and that was further reason for me to be excited.

When we got home, I hugged Ella and Henmi again and told Henmi to hug Adhemar for me when Adhemar returned home. I gathered up all of my wonderful presents and brought them upstairs to my room, Alexander following me inside.

I placed Henmi's music box on top of the dresser, and ran my fingers over the intricate patterns carved into the glass. It really was beautiful.

I then put Adhemar's gift next to Henmi's, making a note to myself to start using them tomorrow evening.

Alexander stripped me of his and Ella's presents, and continued to express his love for me for the rest of the evening under the covers of our bed. Before sunrise, we clothed ourselves again and entered our coffin, our arms around each other in a loving embrace.

�I�m so glad to have you by my side again,� I whispered to him before kissing him once more.

He replied, �I am glad to be here where I belong: with you, my love.� I felt my heart clench. He had shown me so much love this evening, love I was not used to receiving, and I was so overwhelmed by all of it. But, oh, how I loved Alexander, especially at that moment.

In the back of my mind, I remembered that I had not fed that evening, and would probably be famished tomorrow evening and would have to go out and feed right away.

My thoughts had been swimming all evening, but now they simply revolved around our trip overseas together. Spending so much time together, just the two of us, overwhelmed and excited me. I wonder what we will do on the ship� Spending weeks on the ocean together--surely we will run out of things to talk about soon enough! I thought amusedly. Perhaps he will teach me to fence more� perhaps we could bring along practice swords for that. After all, I will not be here for the lessons�

I still had my ring on, and I vowed then never to take it off. It would symbolize mine and Alexander's love, eternal and whole, completely loving. I felt as if I were really married to him!

I was so excited that I feared I would not be able to sleep that day. I tried to relax as best I could, despite how difficult that was, being in Alexander's arms once again. When sleep finally overtook me, it was a peaceful, uninterrupted sleep filled with only pleasant dreams.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next