Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Park.
2003-07-01 - 2:10 p.m.

A few minutes later, Alexander called up to me, asking me to come downstairs. I said goodbye to Adhemar, and went to meet Alexander.

"Lex?" I questioned. "What was wrong? Is something the matter?"

"It is nothing for you to be concerned over, Sindor," he replied quickly. "Come, let us go feed, shall we?"

I nodded, slightly uneasy about his evasion to what had happened. I did not press the matter further, however, as not to make him angry with me.

We fed quickly, eager to diminish the thirst that had overcome us from not having fed the night before.

Afterwards, Alexander took my hand in his and said, "I have to show you something. This way."

He walked me through the city, I not knowing where he was taking me. Eventually, we stopped at the harbor. I looked around, wondering what it was that he had to show me.

"There, Sindor," he pointed to one of the ships tethered to the dock. "That is the one that we will be sailing on to France tomorrow night."

"�I still cannot believe that you want me to go with you," I said to him. "You have never wanted me to go anywhere with you� I don't understand�"

He placed his hands on my shoulders and looked at me with gentle eyes. "Sindor, please, do not think about how I used to be. I want to please you now, and I want to be with you. I want to make you happy, and it would please me most to have you with me on this journey. I love you, Sindor, you know that..."

I nodded, surprised at his confession of love. It was so odd, I decided, so odd that he was acting this way. It was abnormal, suspicious even. But I urged myself to do as he said, to not think about how he used to be, and only to think about him as he was now: loving, and wanting to be with me.

"Good," he replied. "Now� where shall we go?"

"Go?" I asked, confused.

"I want to take you somewhere tonight," Alexander replied. "Then we should go home to be with the others, as we will be leaving tomorrow night and will not see them again for quite some time."

"Yes, you're right�" I replied. It was going to be sort of sad not being able to see Henmi for several months. I hoped nothing bad would happen to him while I was gone. His well-being was frequently on my mind, for he was not immortal like the rest of us are.

"I have an idea," Alexander replied. "I will show you." He took my hand and led me in the opposite direction of the docks.

After walking a short while, we arrived at a little park, one that I had been familiar with as a child. It was nostalgic to see it again.

He sat down on a bench with me and draped his arms around me, as if unnecessarily shielding me from the cold. I did not move away, though. His embrace was heavenly.

"You used to come here as a child, did you not?" Alexander asked.

"Yes," I said, surprised. "How did you know?"

"Henmi told me," Alexander replied. "Well, not willingly, however. His mind is quite open to prying vampires."

I smiled. "I could never read his mind, though. I would feel terrible doing so� But it feels nice to be back here. There are many memories attached to this place."

"Oh?" Alexander asked. "Like what?"

"Well, father would bring me and Henmi here sometimes when he was not working, and we'd play with the other neighborhood children," I replied. "Henmi more so than I, though. My father would always want me to play with Henmi and his friends, but I would say, 'But they play such childish games, and I am much too old for that.' But of course I was not much older than they were, but I just wanted to seem more like an adult to my father." I continued speaking of other memories that I had of this park.

"You have spoken of you father before," Alexander said. "He seemed like a great man."

"He was," I replied earnestly. "We both loved him immensely, but I think Henmi more so than I. Henmi was so attached to him�" I sighed. "But no matter. Ah, what was I saying before? Oh, right. Well, one of the other boys always brought this pet dog of his with him to the park, and Henmi was frightened of it. Father would comfort him, of course, but still, Henmi was reluctant to play here when the dog was around. He was always a bit frightened of animals� And that is why he is reluctant to be near Sebrine." I smiled. "It is still so interesting that you have a tiger, you know. Oh--which reminds me, you have not talked to her since you left. She really missed you; she was sulking about for the longest time. You should go see her tonight, too."

"Yes, you are right, Sindor," he replied. "�shall we go now?"

I smiled. "Sure. She will be happy to see you."

Alexander stood up, pulling me up with him. We walked back to the school together, hand in hand.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next