Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Sebrine
2003-07-01 - 2:14 p.m.

Sindor and I returned to the school from the little park closer than when we left. But when I opened the door for him, we were surprised to find Henmi cowering on the stairs away from Sebrine. Sebrine was pacing at the foot of the stairs, growling slightly at Henmi. When I opened the door, she stopped and turned to see who had come home. She bounded at me in the open doorway with much anger in her eyes. I caught her and held her, while Henmi ran up the stairs and Sindor ran after him.

"I'm sorry, Sin!" Henmi cried as he stopped at the top, crouching behind the banister in fear. "She just started to growl at me..."

"It's alright, Henmi," said Sindor as he reached Henmi. He laid his arms around him in comfort, but looked apprehensive himself.

Sebrine struggled in my arms, but I held her tightly. Sebrine? What is wrong with you? I thought to her. She made no reply.

I walked into the school so no one could see the tiger from the street. I overheard Sindor asking Henmi where Adhemar was as I struggled into the classroom with Sebrine. I did not hear the reply.

I dropped Sebrine to the floor when I entered the room and closed the door.

"What is wrong with you?" I asked aloud in the dimmed room.

She growled at me, bearing her teeth.

"So I left you. I leave you all the time," I stated, merely guessing at the sudden cause of her anger.

And do you think I like that? She growled again. You leave me all the time! To go off with that boy!

"I thought you liked Sindor. From where is this coming?" I asked angrily.

You show him more attention than me. You do not even bother to feed me anymore! Sebrine pounced at me. I dodged her, barely escaping her outstretched claws.

"I make sure you are given the care you need, whether I do it personally or not!" I roared at her, crouching near to the floor to be eye level with her.

Her growl resounded in the room as a deep laugh. When I agreed to follow you, you agreed to watch over me and be my company as well. Do you remember that?

"Of course, I do."

What happened to your promise? We were the companions. Not you and that boy!

"Things have changed. I am no longer wandering around the world in isolation."

So, my company meant nothing to you?

"Of course not! I love you!" I shouted into the empty room. Then I quieted myself and said, "Your company meant everything to me when we were out in the world, as it does now. But you can live on your own, and there are others who care for you as well. Why are you acting like this now?"

She hung her head to the floor. Then she collapsed to the floor in silence.

"Sebrine," I said quietly, crawling over to her.

I laid down next to her and wrapped my arms around her. Will you be alright now?

I just want your attention too. I am sorry. She began to purr and nudged her head against me as if crying.

We remained there until Sindor dared to enter the classroom and ask after us.

Alexander


Previous | Next