Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

Preparing to Leave.
2003-07-02 - 10:43 a.m.

When Alexander and I arrived home, we discovered Sebrine growling viscously at Henmi. I instantly began to panic, but Alexander held Sebrine tightly so that Henmi could get away from her. He ran up the stairs, and I followed after him.

I held him lovingly at the top of the stairs, trying to comfort him. He was still a bit frightened and shaken, and I was very worried about him. But I knew that Adhemar would be able to make him feel more at ease, so I asked Henmi, "Where is Adhemar?"

"In our room�" Henmi managed to voice out. "He just came back from feeding�"

"Come on then, Henmi," I said, pulling Henmi up, and leading him to his and Adhemar's room.

When we entered, Henmi walked lethargically over to Adhemar, who had just finished fluffing up his cravat, and hugged Adhemar tightly.

Adhemar immediately wrapped his arms around Henmi and asked, "What's wrong, Henmi?"

"I didn't mean to," Henmi replied, hugging Adhemar closer. "I don't know what I did� Whatever it is, I'm sorry! She just started growling, and I didn't know what to do�"

"Did Sebrine hurt you?" Adhemar asked, very concerned.

"No�" Henmi said weakly.

Adhemar kissed Henmi's forehead tenderly, then said, "I'm sure you did nothing wrong, Henmi, so don't worry. I would never let her or anyone else hurt you, my love. You know that, right?"

Henmi nodded against Adhemar.

I asked Adhemar urgently through our mind-link, Please, Adhemar, protect him while we are gone. Protect him from everything. Never leave his side, please... I couldn't bare it if anything happened to him�

Me either, Arnon, he replied earnestly. I'll watch over him, I promise.

Thank you, I said gratefully. "I am sure Sebrine did not mean it, Henmi," I said out loud. "I will go see if she is alright now, but I will be back later, okay? I want to talk with you both tonight, since I'm leaving tomorrow night�"

"Alright," Adhemar said, nodding.

I left the room and walked downstairs to the classroom. The door was shut, so I opened it cautiously, and found Alexander and Sebrine laying together on the floor.

"Alexander?" I asked quietly, edging my way forward towards him. "Is she� okay now?"

"Yes, Sindor, it is alright now," he replied. "Come here." He held up his hand for me to take.

I walked to him and took his hand in mine for a moment, then sat down next to him on the floor.

"What was the matter?" I asked.

"She was just angry because I left, that is all�" Alexander replied.

I was silent for a moment. I knew how much Sebrine really did love Alexander, and I knew that she would not be able to see him for a very long time after tonight, so I decided that I should leave them alone tonight. "Alexander, I am going to go talk to Adhemar and Henmi, and I want you to spend time with Ella and Sebrine, alright?"

"But--"

"--Alexander, you will get to see me, only me, night after night on this journey," I interrupted. "But you won't get to see Ella and Sebrine for a very long time. Be with them tonight, alright? Even if it is only for a little while. They will miss you so much Alexander, so spend time with them tonight, alright?" I leaned over and kissed him gently before standing up. "I'll see you later, then."

I began walking towards the stairs, but Alexander called to me, "Wait for me later then, Sindor, in our room. I have something to tell you later."

I nodded back at him, then continued walking up the stairs, wondering what he would tell me later.

I entered Adhemar and Henmi's room again, finding the both of them sitting across from each other on their bed, talking casually. I was glad that Adhemar had gotten Henmi to calm down.

They both looked up at me as I entered. Adhemar said, "Come 'ere Arnon; we'll make room." He pulled Henmi to the other side of the bed to sit next to him. I sat down across from them.

"So�" Adhemar continued. "You're leaving tomorrow?"

"It is just like before�" Henmi said sadly.

"It is nothing like before," I corrected. "Nothing bad will happen to me, for Alexander will be with me, and Adhemar is not going anywhere; he is staying here to be with you."

"I know� but I still don't want you to leave�" Henmi averted his eyes. "I'll miss you a lot�"

"Henmi�" I said quietly. "I'll miss you a lot, too. But I'll be back soon, I promise�" I pulled my brother into my arms and hugged him tightly. "It will be alright, I promise. You won't be lonely; Adhemar and Ella will be here with you."

He nodded against me, but I still knew that he was going to be depressed for a while, having to be away from me for several months. And I would probably feel the same once we hit the sea. But Alexander would be with me, so his presence would counter my loneliness caused by Henmi's absence.

I released Henmi and said to Adhemar jokingly, "I might miss you."

He smiled. "I might miss you too, kid."

I smiled back at him, then hugged him as well.

He pulled away from me a moment later, and said, "You packed yet?"

"No," I answered simply.

"Shall we help?" he asked.

"Alright," I answered, standing from the bed.

"Good," he answered, standing up as well, pulling Henmi with him. "You'll need a few extra outfits, for you're going to have to blend in with the humans, you know. They change outfits frequently, of course."

"I want to take practice swords, too," I said. "I want Alexander to teach me while we are gone� If he wants to, that is."

"Of course he'll want to," Adhemar replied. "Now let's start, eh? Why don't you and Henmi start packing in your room, and I'll go get the swords, 'kay?"

I nodded, so he exited the room to go downstairs to the classroom. Henmi and I went into my room to gather together some of my clothes. I decided to take along my brushes as well.

When we had about finished, Adhemar came back, carrying two practice swords with him. After we finished packing, we sat together and talked in my room, waiting for Alexander to come see us.

-Sindor-

*All the rights to Sindor (the graphics and text included) belong to Leah Jenner. No reproduction or republication without written permission.


Previous | Next