Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

A Sibling's Death
2003-08-25 - 7:51 p.m.

Sindor and I strode along the upper deck that second night, observing the fellow passengers. There was one other family onboard. Sindor and I both knew they were untouchable, especially with their very young children. As we passed them, I smiled gently at the little girl, who seemed to notice the difference in me.

"We should stay away from that family at all costs. That girl is intuitive," I whispered to Sindor as we continued along the deck toward the aft of the ship.

He nodded gently at my shoulder. "Sure is cold tonight."

"I will keep you warm, my love," I sighed, wrapping my arm around his shoulder as we passed into the shadow of the mast.

There were plenty of other pickings on the ship however. Many of them were crew men, which I thought we should feed on only if we were in desperate need as we needed those men to get us to France. Sindor agreed with me. He was more interested in the subtle group of assassins anyway, who liked to stay in their cabins. We could smell the blood on them even up on the deck in the clear air. There were also a few strangler men hoping to regain their lives back in France as the New World seemed to not hold as much for them as they had hoped.

I told Sindor that we should share the same meal and that we should kill every couple of days. He thought it was best as well.

Since we finished our scope of the ship for the evening, we headed back to our cabin to avoid more suspicion. I fell back on the cleared bed as Sindor continued to place our clothes in the small dresser.

"Lex?"

"Yes, Sindor?" I asked, as I adjusted myself on the bed, leaning against the plank wall with one leg up. I wrapped my right arm around my leg to pin it against my body.

Sindor looked at me cautiously. "I was just wondering something."

"You do not have to be afraid, Sin. Ask me what you want to know," I said soothingly.

Sindor still looked uncertain as he sat down opposite me on the bed with our coffin. He leaned against it gently, his eyes shifting around the room as he debated within himself if he should ask his burning question.

"Go on, Sindor. I will not bite," I said with a coy smile.

Sindor laughed nervously. "It is just... I'm not sure I should ask..."

"I do not care, Sindor. Ask me your question." I did not mean to sound rough, but Sindor's cowardice was unbecoming of a vampire.

I knew I should not have made him. He is too sweet.

"How... how did you make... Ella?" he asked timidly, searching for the right words.

I looked at him, stunned. "I thought I told you how to sire."

"No, not that. I know that. But how could you bring yourself to kill your own sister?" He stared at me intently.

"Oh. You mean, how could I have killed Ella when I would not kill even you, some one I did not know as well?"

"Yes, that. I was just wondering how, because I keep wondering to myself how anyone could possibly kill a sibling. I mean, I would never kill Henmi..."

I interrupted Sindor's ramblings. "I understand, Sindor. It does seem odd, that I, who was too caring to kill you, killed my own sweet sister and brought her into this hell, does it not?"

Sindor silently nodded at me, never leaving my eyes.

"Well, you must first understand that when I was about your age I was highly naive. I ran away from my home to travel around the known world on a fencing tour which led to my own death. I was completely naive when I begged the Dark Trick from the vampire, Adonis. And he was stupid enough to turn me, which has had many consequences, however nice the few benefits."

I smiled gently at Sindor. He blushed slightly.

I sighed, then continued the story. "After Jay turned me, we returned to Paris, high on our own immortality. I always loved Ella the most among my siblings, and she loved me so. When I revealed myself to her, she was not afraid. She merely asked me to make her like me. At first I said no. How could I possibly do what Jay did to me, especially to my baby sister? But she wanted it, just as foolishly as I had. It only took me a few nights to realize that my sister was just like I was. She did not belong to the world she inhabited. She belonged in mine, the darkness in the shadow. She wanted it, but not like you, or even Henmi seems to want it. She knew what she was doing, she was becoming more of what she was destined to be by dying and being reborn. She turned wisely."

"Are you saying that I didn't?" asked Sindor defensively.

"Sindor, you did not take it. I gave it to you while you were dying. You were thrust into this world, like Adhemar. That is why I believe you two get along so handsomely. But, anyway, Ella adjusted well to her new life, finding the kill and immortality as exhilarating as Jay and I did. We made a good coven, which did not last too long for Ella disappeared and I realized for the first time that this life is not as cracked up as it seems to be."

Sindor nodded slowly.

"I killed Ella because I was foolish and, I know realize that deep down, I needed her as you need me, and I have come to need you. The difference between you and Henmi is that I thrust this life upon you, despite your silly fancies about wanting it, while Henmi does not need it. He truly only wants to be loved. He sees Adhemar as the one thing that has made him live again, and he does not want to lose it. Unfortunately for Henmi, he has been placed in the center of our coven, and he honestly thinks that he wants it too."

"Some people are just not capable of being vampires," thought Sindor outloud.

"That is very true. Even you yourself should know that."

"But Lex..."

"No, you may be able to kill a meal here and there, Sindor, but if some creature, like Soterius, turned you and then left you, you would certainly not be as comfortable as you are now. I made you, and I stayed with you. That makes a hell of a lot of difference. But you really should not be in this life."

"But I love being with you, Lex. I love you so much," Sindor pleaded unnecessarily.

"I know that, Sindor. And as long as we are together, you will be alright. And so will I."

Sindor grinned at me, but I could still tell that he was not quite happy with my remarks. I smiled at him anyway, reassuring him.

Alexander


Previous | Next