Current...Past...Sin...Alexander...Forum...Notes...Survey...D-land

The Road to Paris
2004-07-27 - 1:10 p.m.

I had told Marc that Sindor and I would return in the late afternoon. It was the only thing I could tell him since Sindor and I could not rise until the sun had set. But as soon as it began to grow dark, I awoke. Sindor was still in my arms, asleep. I gently kissed him on the forehead.

He stirred. "Lex?"

"We should go. If we wait any longer, it will be too dark."

We left the boathouse and edged to the manor. I made sure we walked stealthily around the perimeter so as not to be seen coming from the boathouse. We arrived at the front door and knocked. I waited patiently as Sindor tried to awakened himself.

"There you are," answered Marc. "I was starting to worry you would not return."

"I beg your pardon, Marc. Our activities for the day have taken longer than expected," I replied.

"That is quite alright. I already have the carriage waiting. But do come in first." He gestured inside.

Sindor and I entered the manor and followed Marc to the sitting room. Christine and Theodore were lounging inside, awaiting our arrival in travel clothes.

"Good evening, monsieurs," stated Christine.

"Good evening," enjoined Theodore.

"Good evening," Sin and I replied in turn.

"I am looking forward to this journey of ours," said Theodore, smiling brillantly at Sindor.

"He has been speaking of it all day," added Christine.

Sindor smiled.

"I believe you should be heading out. It will not take you long by carriage, but it is possible my grandmother will not receive visitors at a too late of an hour," informed Marc.

"Assuredly. Madame," I extended my arm out to Christine.

She gladly took it, and we led the way back outside. Sindor and Theodore walked together behind us, followed by Marc. The carriage awaited just outside the carriage house.

"We do not have many servants," said Christine humbly. "But I know how to drive a carriage myself."

"That is quite unnecessary, madame. I can drive it, but I would love for you to keep me company. I also am unaware of exactly where I am going."

"Of course."

I helped Christine onto the bench and then followed her up. Sindor and Theodore entered into the carriage.

"The carriage is not difficult to navigate," mentioned Marc. "And all you have to do is take this main road all the way to Paris. Christine knows the way from there. Have a safe journey."

"Thank you, Marc," I replied.

"Good bye, my love. Come home soon," Marc told his wife.

"I will," she replied.

I flicked the reins, and the carriage jerked forward.

I kept the horses trotting a good pace for most of the journey. They were good, strong horses. Both were brown, but one had white spots.

Christine and I rode in silence for awhile. I was unsure what exactly to speak to her about. But then she asked me a question.

"Are you really Alexander's grandson?"

I looked at her, confused. "What do you mean?"

"Marc told me that you are Abagail's brother's grandson. The one who ran away forty years ago or so."

"Yes, that is correct." I was still not sure where she was going with these questions.

"Why did he leave?"

The question was so simple, but I had a very hard time coming up with a decent response.

"Well, I suppose he wanted to see the world."

"But why did he leave without telling anyone. And the sister too."

I could hear the fear in her voice. "Is there something else to these questions, Christine?"

She looked at me, uncertain if she wanted to tell me the truth. Slowly, she began. "I am just curious as to how someone could just leave their family without telling them."

"Has someone left you?"

"No. I just worry about Teddy. I truly fear that one day I will wake up, and he will be gone without one word. I love him so much, and I would hate to think what would happen to him if he was out on his own." She paused.

"You see, Teddy, well, he is not well."

I placed my arm over her shoulder to comfort her. She was shivering. "Perhaps you ought to sit in the carriage for a while. The night air is not doing well for you."

"No, I am fine. I like sitting out here with you." She huddled closer to me.

"You know, some times, it is hard to say good bye to the ones you love. That might have been a reason for Alexander's abrupt departure. But Theodore would not leave you, especially not without saying good bye."

We spent the rest of the journey to Paris in silent comfort. I hoped Sindor was able to speak with Theodore enough to comfort him as well.

Alexander


Previous | Next